Post A Day – what a lot of bloggers are thinking

At the beginning of 2011, when WordPress announced their Post A Day and Post A Week challenges, I gave this some thought and decided not to sign up. It was mid-summer here in South Africa and as I suffer from severe migraines  in summer, I was pretty sure that I was not going to be able to keep up the pace. Definitely not for Post A Day, and maybe not even for Post A Week if I was having a bad week. As the months went by I noticed that some bloggers who had signed up, were definitely taking strain.

Most bloggers don’t write or blog for a living, so find it really difficult to balance blogging daily with their other responsibilities – having a job (whether inside or outside of the home), taking care of their families, and having some time just to relax or take time for their hobbies or sports.

I had contemplated writing a post about this. Then recently, in my search for examples of interesting looking blog layouts, I came across this post by Shay from The Files of a Logophile called Overbloggers Anonymous (OBA).  I think she did such a great job of writing about Post A Day, that I’m not going to attempt it. Please click on the link and read it. It’s good and it’s funny – and it’s true.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Post A Day – what a lot of bloggers are thinking”

  1. August 2, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    That was an interesting post Lisa and I did leave a comment. Thanks!

    • August 3, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      I went over and read your comment there. I think there are some bloggers who are gifted writers and can also handle the pace, but it’s an impossible goal for people with a lot of other commitments. Or those – like me – that don’t lead such interesting lives. Unlike Debra from Bagni di Lucca and Beyond always has lots of photographs and stories from her travels, so she never runs out of stuff to write about.

  2. August 2, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Amen, amen, amen! How incredibly true! I’m not able to get to the link, but I will come back in a bit and try again. (It’s my laptop, not your link. I’ve been having the problem over and over.)

    (By the way, I’m working on my 7 links post. It should be ready by tomorrow or the day after.)

    Kathy

  3. August 2, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Interesting. I subscribed to post a day, but I actually haven’t used any of their suggestions. I write about my travels and I don’t seem to run out of stuff to say. I no doubt say too much, but not everyone reads everything.
    On a very bright note I was chosen as a Blogger of the month for my post on Helsinki by Easy Jet Holidays. What fun!

    • August 3, 2011 at 7:32 am #

      Because you have lots of photographs and stories from your travels, you do have a lot to write about and the quality of your posts is always high. It’s when the quality of the posts suffer, that the blogger is probably trying to write too often.

      Congratulations on your Blogger of the Month award! :-)

  4. jacquelincangro
    August 2, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    So true! It can be tough for the writer and the reader to have a post a day. There are very few bloggers that have enough interesting things to say every single day. Of the ones I know I think I can count them on one hand.

    Better to always leave ‘em wanting more as they say in show business.

    • August 3, 2011 at 7:34 am #

      I know what you mean about struggling to keep up with bloggers that post every day. I follow a couple of really good bloggers who do post almost daily and it’s difficult to get to everyone every day.

  5. August 2, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Excellent post.
    I post every other day….But subscibe to 25 other blogs.
    It’s a full time job! Whew.
    Thanks for the info. xx

    • August 3, 2011 at 7:35 am #

      Glad to hear you enjoyed the post I recommended. It does become a full time job if one blogs every day and still follows other blogs. Don’t know how you do it!

  6. Lu
    August 3, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Maybe we should design a logo for “I’m a part of post when I want to”!
    Admittedly, I can post all too frequently – a function of feeling that I have a lot of things to catch up on…(and knowing that I may go off-radar for weeks at a time, every now and then)
    I should have started blogging much earlier than just this year!
    Trying now to pace myself realising that it’s not always worth putting out a post a day (across the blogs) if the material is somewhat lacking in substance. I’m hoping that this means that I can improve on quality – and therefore keep current readers and potential new audiences entertained, one way or another!

    • August 4, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      Only posting when you really feel inspired to means you’re still having fun and it’s not just another chore. I really don’t know how you manage to work, travel and still keep posting regularly on several blogs! Don’t think you’re going to run out of material to write about any time soon. ;-)

  7. August 3, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    THANK YOU!! I have not had a chance to even check my blog, that is how crazy busy I get. Then upon my quick visit, I saw that I had so many views on my older post. I was so surprised. Thanks for that shout it, much appreciated. I really wish I had time to post more and to read everyone’s blogs that I enjoy. It’s just tough with life going on over here. And I don’t travel and take pictures and see the sights, so it would be boring if I wrote all the time.

    For those bloggers out there who love to blog, keep on blogging. You don’t have to worry about what people think, just do it because you want to. I don’t like the forced posts. They are irritating to read when you have so little time and want to get a quick good read.

    Everyone has to do what is best for them. Keep on blogging. :)

    • August 4, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      You’re welcome! :-) In fact, I should thank you for writing such a wonderful post, so that I didn’t have to!

  8. August 3, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Very interesting post and I have to say that I agree with what it says almost 100%.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers

