Read this . . .

I am starting a new series called “Read this . . .”.  I really struggled to think of a suitable name for the series, and I’m not sure whether this one is the right one either. Any suggestions are welcome.

So what is it about? Every week  I read wonderful posts and articles written by other bloggers and writers. Ones that I have personally enjoyed, which have touched me or made me laugh. Often posts that I think deserve more attention and recognition than they are getting. So I’ve decided to highlight those posts in a semi-regular series. I hope to do this on a weekly basis, but I’ll have to see how it goes. The posts or articles won’t necessarily have been written in that week.

So here goes . . . Click on the title to link to the post.

Jacquelin Cangro: Friday Five – The Grand Canyon

I always enjoy Jackie’s Friday Five posts, but this one about the Grand Canyon was particularly interesting. I was saying to Jackie that we didn’t have any canyons on the scale of the Grand Canyon in Southern Africa. Then I read on Wikipedia that the Fish River Canyon in Namibia is the second largest canyon in the world and the largest canyon in Africa. To look at other photographs of the Fish River Canyon click here.

Fish River Canyon in Namibia (Image source: Wikimedia Commons)

To see an interesting description of the Fish River Canyon read Trekking Fish River Canyon from the Other Places Travel Guide.

~~~ . . .~~~

I still often think of Kathryn McCullough as “Haiti Kathryn” because I first started following Kathy when she and her partner Sara, were still living in Haiti. I’ve really enjoyed two of Kathy’s posts this week.

Re-inventing the event horizon: Turn Summer Trash into Christmas Cash (A Holiday Ecology)

In the first one on crafts, Kathy shows just how creative she is.

Re-inventing the event horizon: Everything I Need to Know I Learned in a Mental Hospital–

This informative and yet light-hearted and amusing account of what one can learn from a stay in a mental hospital, shows exactly why Kathy survived a very dark period in her life.

That’s it for this week. I’m still trying to recover from our Kalahari trip, and am catching up on my blog reading.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Read this . . .”

  1. August 27, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Good idea Lisa – I look forward to reading the posts you suggest – I already follow Kathy’s . blog and enjoy it so much. Don’t forget about the Blyde river canyon too. According to wiki:-

    “While it is difficult to compare canyons world-wide, Blyde River Canyon is one of the largest canyons on Earth, and it may be the largest ‘green canyon’ due to its lush subtropical foliage. It has some of the deepest precipitious cliffs of any canyon on the planet. It is the second largest canyon in Africa, after the Fish River Canyon, and is known as one of the great wonders of nature on the continent.”

  2. August 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Thanks so much, Lisa! I’m pleased you enjoyed my posts–especially “Everything I need to Know I Learned in a Mental Hospital”–as I’m trying to look at that time in a more lighthearted and entertaining way. I love it that it made you laugh!

    I appreciate your generosity, my friend–your willingness to use your blog to promote the work of others!

    You are dear!

    Kathy

    • August 27, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      I have been wanting to do this kind of “suggested reading” series for a while. When I first joined WordPress, I saw somebody who is a contributor on various US news sites, do this on her personal blog. Not only do you get an idea of what that person reads and likes, but I thought it interesting that a professional writer/journalist takes the time to read other people’s blog and columns and then has the generosity to share the links.

  3. August 27, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Great idea! We read so many fabulous stuff, but quickly forget about it (and that’s a shame). I really loved the post about things I learned in a mental hospital, that was a great one!
    About a title..hmm. I guess just keep it simple: “Best blog posts of last week” or “My favorite blog posts of last week”. Good luck!
    Emiel

    • August 27, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Emiel! I have tried passing links on via Twitter, but I think that it’s a very transient medium (and I don’t have many Twitter followers anyway! ;-) ).

      Thanks for the title suggestions! :-)

  4. jacquelincangro
    August 27, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Thank you so much for sharing the Grand Canyon post! I’m glad that you liked it. It’s wonderful to give others a peek into the natural world, which is why I love your Kalahari posts so much.

    • August 30, 2011 at 7:52 am #

      You’re welcome! :-) I’ve been wanting to do this kind of series for a while now. After reading some posts (including yours) when we got back from vacation, I thought what better time than now?

  5. August 29, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    Such a great way to find new blogs!

    • August 30, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      Well, you may be following some of the bloggers I read already, but at least I’ll alert you to any good posts! :-)

  6. August 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Cool idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 677 other followers

