Caption This #4

The winner of Caption This #4, by popular vote, is Reggie from Grains of Sand with the caption: “And from these humble beginnings, Albert the Adventurous Weaver Bird launched his career as a high-wire trapeze artist in a travelling circus …”  Congratulations Reggie!

This being the first time for a poll on Notes from Africa, I’m still working out how best to set it up  – especially the time period I should allow for voting. I’ve decided on a week for voting which means that voting closing on Saturday 22 October at 08:00 GMT +02:00.

The setting: A stretch of road in the Northern Cape (South Africa). On either side of the road is a telephone pole with a Sociable Weaver nest (each housing many birds) on it, and stretched in-between the two poles/nests is a telephone wire. A little bird sits perched on the wire.

“And from these humble beginnings, Albert the Adventurous Weaver Bird launched his career as a high-wire trapeze artist in a travelling circus …” Caption by Reggie from Grains of Sand. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

You only get one vote – use it wisely! Because I’m not sure if enough people will vote, I’m allowing people to pick their top two (2) choices. You can (theoretically) vote for yourself, but please only do so if you are convinced yours is the best caption!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Caption This #4”

  1. October 15, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Tough choice — these were all really funny.

    • October 15, 2011 at 8:13 am #

      They’re great, aren’t they?! I am SO glad that I don’t need to pick one!

  2. October 15, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Gosh! This is going to require as much thought as coming up with a caption in the first place!! – Will have to consider the options most carefully :)

    • October 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      Now you know why I found it so difficult to pick! This week’s entries are all particularly good.

      • October 20, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

        OK…. voting done!

      • October 20, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

        Took you quite a while to decide! :-)

  3. October 15, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Interesting. I guess I picked the one others favored, as well.
    Kathy

  4. October 21, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Yeah… been quite busy these past couple of weeks…hoping things start to settle down a bit sometime soon!

  5. October 22, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Congratulations Reggie! A well-deserved win. Your caption had me laughing every time I read it.

  6. Gian Banchero
    October 22, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    Great caption, love it, made me laugh!!!

  7. October 22, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Congrats, Reggie!

  8. October 22, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Congratulations to the winner! This has been fun and I look forward to more. I gave your contest a shout out on my site two days ago.

  9. October 22, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Hooray for Reggie–and Albert!
    Kathy

  10. October 23, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Yay for Reggie & Albert! Well done :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 556 other followers

