Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

When I think of the word “beyond” I always think of wide open spaces . . . of seeing what lies on the horizon, and imagining what lies beyond.

The Savanna beyond . . .©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

The Savanna beyond . . .©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

The mountains beyond . . . ©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

A salt pan with the mountains and desert beyond . . . ©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

To join the fun go to Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond”

  1. January 20, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Beautiful pictures!

  2. Eha
    January 21, 2013 at 3:01 am #

    Thank you for showing us what does lie beyond! Too ‘bare’ for an semi-urban/rural gal like me, but so interesting to absorb the atmosphere . . .

    • January 21, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

      I’m also an urban girl, but these are the kind of places I like to go to clear my head.

  3. January 21, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    “Beyond” is a heck of a long way off in your top photo!

    • January 21, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

      You’re right! It’s one of my favourite places because the camp lies above the plains, and the horizon curves around you.

  4. January 21, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Awesome! I love the second image and the top one has my feet itching!!! Where is it?

    • January 21, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      The first image is the Gharagab Wilderness Camp in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park (Kalahari). This is lion country, so you can’t go wandering around on foot here! The second image is somewhere along the Skeleton Coast in Namibia.

  5. January 21, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Lovely interpretation of “beyond”
    Living in the city, I’m always interested in wide open spaces. These photos do the trick!

    • January 22, 2013 at 8:23 am #

      What do you think of as “beyond”?

      • January 23, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

        I was just reading an article on the Higgs Boson (absolutely fascinating stuff though I’m sure I only understood about 1% of it). The way that the bosons may be able to interact makes me think of “beyond” not just that it’s beyond my understanding. Ha. But that it’s beyond what our senses can understand. Beyond sensory experience.

  6. January 22, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    I really like that second photo.

    • January 23, 2013 at 7:41 am #

      Thanks Riekie! I also love the colours and the soft light in the second photo.

  7. January 28, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    Love the ‘beyond’ which comes to an all encompassing whole….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly photo challenge: beyond | Cloud and Mountain - January 21, 2013

    [...] Notes from Africa [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 677 other followers

