Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

Some creatures carry their homes with them . . .

©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

To join in the fun go to Weekly Photo Challenge: Home

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

33 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Home”

  1. February 10, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Lovely… ;-)

  2. February 10, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    ….and how brilliant are those mobile homes, a perfect fit, designed for purpose, weatherproofed, ecologically sound! As a child i used to hunt for the alikreukel operculum, loved the concept of it’s ‘door’. Isn’t nature all-inspiring.

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:02 am #

      Yes, Nature is awesome! :-) It is the perfect little house for this creature.

  3. February 10, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Nice perspective :)

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:03 am #

      Thanks! I was going to go for something more conventional, but then remember I had this photo.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! :-)

  4. February 10, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    nice! i was expecting a turtle :)

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:04 am #

      It was a bit cryptic wasn’t it? Quite a few creatures live in shells.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! :-)

  5. February 10, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Great take on the challenge!

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:05 am #

      Thanks! Initially I had no idea of what to do, then found this photo in my archives.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! :-)

  6. February 10, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    This is so beautiful!

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:09 am #

      Thank you for appreciating the little snail. I think it’s quite beautiful too.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! :-)

  7. February 10, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    Like the idea!

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:14 am #

      Thank you! I appreciate you visiting my blog and leaving a comment. :-)

  8. February 10, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    love it…i photographed a Leopard Slug not so long ago and lots of people went ‘eeeuuuuwww’, but all I could see was how beautiful it was

  9. Eha
    February 11, 2013 at 2:18 am #

    What a beautiful picture of an extraordinarily decorated home and owner! No rent, no electrcity or water bills and travelling where the heart desires! Was a totally urban gal when on honeymoon in Fiji on a relative’s beach: told to be careful where I stepped I found the whole beach covered with little sea snails called ‘cussy cussy’s going about their life – oft they did not have their own shell, but used anything with a cavity as a home! Fabulous memory!!

    • February 11, 2013 at 6:18 am #

      Thank Eha! Yes, it’s really an eco-friendly home, isn’t it? Thank you for sharing your wonderful memory. I also thought of sea snails when I saw this snail (which was on a forest road).

  10. GeoRoMancer
    February 11, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    The interesting thing from a design standpoint is that, thanks to its spiral form, the “house” is continuously expandable while the creature lives in it. The exoskeleton of insects is a counter-example.

  11. February 11, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

    And what a beautiful home he has on his back.

    • February 12, 2013 at 6:07 am #

      So true. It’s only when you get down and look at them close-up that you realise how pretty their shells are.

  12. February 11, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    I love this interpretation of Home! In the spring and fall, I often see snails near the park by my apartment. They tend to come out after a good rain and they range in size from a pea to a baseball! This guy you’ve captured looks quite big. A friend told me that depending on the snail the shells will grow with them – they don’t need to look for a new “home”. They never outgrow it. Wish that were true of humans! :)

  13. February 12, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Some creatures carry their homes with them . . . lovely words..

    • February 13, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      Thank you! :-) I appreciate you visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

  14. February 13, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    fabulous photo….I love it :)

    • February 14, 2013 at 7:40 am #

      Thanks Christine! Willie and I are just amateur photographers, so we are always thrilled when a professional likes our photos. :-)

  15. March 21, 2013 at 6:49 am #

    Beautiful perfect photo!

    • March 21, 2013 at 8:55 am #

      It’s quite a cute little snail. Again looking at it close-up you see a lot of detail you would otherwise miss.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 556 other followers

