Looking back – my favourite guest posts

I have been lucky to have several talented writers and photographers agree to write guest posts for Notes from Africa. As I had done a “looking back” post for my posts last year, I thought I’d do the same for my guest bloggers.

Before beginning with my favourite guest posts though, I’d like to thank family and friends who have shared their stories and photos, for me to use on my blog. Special mentions here go to Theo and Piet van Zyl,  Heyns Kotze, Connie Jonker, Sarita & Thinus Botha. They’ve generously handed over memory sticks filled with their photos when they’ve returned from an interesting trip. Willie (the one I live with!) also has contributed enormously to this blog. Although he’s written some “guest posts”, I’ve included my favourite of his posts in my own top posts list.

So now to my favourite guest posts . . .

Click on the red links or the accompanying photos to go to individual posts.

Guest blogger: Skadu

Skadu’s blog Microfishing in the World Pool documents her life on Gabriola Island (British Columbia, Canada) in images and words. At the beginning of last year, we discovered a mutual interest in fantasy (think “Lord of the Rings“) online role-playing games. Since she had given the subject a whole lot more thought than I had, she agreed to write about her views on role-playing games in two wonderful posts: Fantasy, Reality, Dreams – Part I and Fantasy, Reality, Dreams – Part II.

These are excellent essays on what role-playing games are about, and I would think would be of interest to gamers themselves, people who just want to understand more about gaming, and also people who know gamers (and are confused about the attraction!).

Screenshot from Dragon Age: Origins © EA International Ltd.

Guest blogger: Lu

Lu from The Unwitting Traveller – an excellent blog combining photography and stories about her travels around the world – shares with me the “curse” of having very vivid dreams.  In response to my post about having somebody else’s dreams, she wrote about her own dreams in the post Befriending Mr Sandman.

Image: Water ripples ©Lu/theunwittingtraveller.com – from a post called Shell Beach

Guest Blogger: Jos

Jos Badenhorst works for a local forestry company and lives at a nearby forestry station. He shared the interesting story of a “leopard cam” which they put up in one of the forests, in the post If you go down to the woods today. Yes, they photographed a leopard, and a whole lot more!

Xolo, the leopard. (Image supplied by Jos Badenhorst)

Guest Blogger: Estie

Estie is not only my sister-in-law, but a friend with whom I share a love of nature and crime fiction. She’s contributed to my blog a number of times, but my two favourite posts are from a trip which she took to the Eastern Cape interior.

The first is the The Valley of Desolation post. This place just looks so surreal and other-worldly to me – an ancient landscape. And the name Camdeboo National Park sounds really ancient and different too. “Camdeboo” has evolved from a phonetically similar Khoi word meaning “green hollow”. I’m not sure how green this hollow is!

At the dolerite columns of the Valley of Desolation, looking down over the plains of Camdeboo ©Estie/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

and the post: Cactus labyrinth, because I like cacti and have never seen so many big ones in one area.

The Cactus Labyrinth ©Estie/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Guest Blogger: Karl-Heinz

Karl-Heinz did a series of  four posts on his trip to Namaqualand and the Tankwa Karoo. I had two favourites amongst them. First, the post about the Namaqualand National Park. Karl-Heinz and his wife Sonette went there last year during the height of the Spring wild flower display. It was stunning to see the carpets of bright flowers in what is usually a dry and drab Karoo landscape.

©Sonette Niemand

and the post about the  Tankwa Karoo National Park. The Tankwa Karoo is another amazing ancient landscape. Below is one of my favourite photos of Karl-Heinz’s trip there. “Tankwa” could be translated as “turbid water”, “place of the San”, or “thirst land”. Which all sound very appropriate to me.

Gannaga Pass. ©Karl-Heinz Niemand

I hope that you’ve enjoyed these guest posts as much as I have.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Guest Bloggers

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Looking back – my favourite guest posts”

  1. March 19, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Thank you for sharing these wonderful photos and posts.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Eha
    March 20, 2013 at 3:50 am #

    Oh Lisa! What a lot of wonderful homework for me of the times I had as yet to discover you :) ! OK, at the moment I cannot go past Jos Badenhorst’s photo of the leopard . . . that elegantly lifted front left paw!!!!! Can’t pose to get that :) ! Thanks for the links . . . .

    • March 20, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      These “looking back” posts really highlight the best of the previous year and make it easy for newcomers to see what my blog is all about. That leopard is a beautiful creature, isn’t he? He’s in really good condition.

  3. March 25, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    Oh wow! I remember some of these! A lovely retrospective.

    • March 28, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      I’ve had some lovely guest posts haven’t I? It’s been wonderful having people willing to share their stories on my blog.

      • March 29, 2013 at 7:42 am #

        Yes, you sure have, Lisa. I haven’t had any guest bloggers on mine yet, but I think it would be a really great idea – as would actually meeting some of my blog readers. :-)

      • April 5, 2013 at 11:42 am #

        It is fun having guest bloggers – especially if they expand or give their views on something you’ve written about. Did you check out this week’s guest post on Antarctica?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 651 other followers

