In the footsteps of the Incas – part 1

lisa@notesfromafrica:

Many people have a “bucket list” of things that they would like to do “one day”. Gerda from justcallmegertie (AKA The Blogging Accountant), is one of the few people I know who is actively working their way through their list.
Her sense of adventure, and willingness to try something new and completely out of her comfort zone, is truly awesome! Her most recent trip was to South America to walk the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu.

Don’t miss this post!!!

Lisa.

Originally posted on justcallmegertie:

There is one word that is universally understood and that expresses the same intensity of feeling in all languages.

Wow!

What started out as a tick on my bucket list, ended off as a personal pilgrimage for me. But in the end, I completed the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. I don’t want to run ahead of myself, but when I (finally) entered the Sun Gate and had the first view of Machu Picchu, I cried. Amidst all the congratulatory hugs and high fives, I had to swallow back the tears that welled up in my eyes. I made it. I could not remember the last time (if ever), I was in so much physical pain, but I did not regret a moment of it. As we posed for a group picture and the designated guy to take the picture said ‘Say Never Again’, I thought I probably would never…

View original 1,483 more words

Tags: ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at http://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

4 Comments on “In the footsteps of the Incas – part 1”

  1. May 30, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Peru is always worth a visit — and that first glimpse of Machu Picchu is staggering! Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Eha
    May 31, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    Lisa dearheart: have just met Gertie on her blog and subscribed to that! A wonderful story intelligently told! Thank you for having her as your guest and a great big hug to you and Rosie and all the family . . .

  3. June 1, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

    This is one trip that is on my bucket list also. Thanks for reposting this!

  4. September 5, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    What a fantastic story! Thank you for reblogging it, Lisa.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

