The Ultimate . . .

Photo: pecinaroonaroo

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been on the hunt for the Ultimate Cheesecake.  Before this there was the Ultimate Chocolate Cake, the Ultimate Carrot Cake (don’t know if this is a particularly South African thing, or whether it’s eaten elsewhere), the Ultimate Muffin etc . . . you get the picture. It usually involves some sort of baking activity. I find cooking a bit less of a search for perfection.

The criteria for the hunt is that the cake or whatever should be both tasty, and as easy to make as possible.  I did come across one cheesecake recipe recently which claimed to be The Ultimate, but it seemed like an awful lot of effort to make. Could this particular cheesecake really be that good?!

It helps a little if I’ve had The Ultimate somewhere and can ask the creator in question if I could have the recipe. As in the case of the Ultimate Carrot Cake. Which my mother-in-law bakes. And she gladly shared her recipes (plural – I think she sent me 3 or 4!) with me, not knowing which one I was talking about.  I made an educated guess, and got the right one on the second attempt. Much quicker that way, but ultimately (what can I say, I like the word) less fun.

You’re probably thinking that I spend a lot of time baking. But really it’s all in the research (once a scientist . . .). If you read a lot of recipes, and try a couple of variations, you normally have a good idea of you’re looking for. But it does involve some trial and error – and some willing guinea pigs to test the results.

So what happens when I find The Ultimate? I usually only bake it once a year or so  . . . It’s all about the journey!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Food/Cooking

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

9 Comments on “The Ultimate . . .”

  1. mjco
    July 27, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    I can certainly identify with this journey, except that I don’t really worry about finding the recipe. Having the recipe will only entice me to experience that ‘ultimate’ taste of perfection more often than my diet allows. But . . ahh. . . what bliss!

    My journey involves myself, my mother and my aunt visiting each and every coffee shop in town. We are looking for that perfect slice of sin, be it lemon meringue, cheesecake, milk tart, chocolate cake . . . the list goes on.

    Maybe the answer to your Ultimate Cheesecake lies in the not so healthy recipes and lots of whisking? Uhm. .. does one whisk cheesecake mixture?

  2. July 27, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    What’s a “healthy cheesecake”?!

    The effort of baking stops me from indulging too often.

  3. mjco
    July 27, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    Healthy, as in using substitute ingredients?

    Btw, do you know which is more popular – baked or unbaked cheesecake?

    • July 28, 2010 at 6:19 am #

      “Healthy” and “cheesecake” just aren’t two words I’d put in the same sentence! 😉

      I don’t know which variety is more popular, but my Ultimate Cheesecake is going to be of the baked variety.

  4. mjco
    July 31, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Now I’ve done it!! I shouldn’t have, but I did 😦

    I went to the supermarket to buy milk, and then I saw this huge cheesecake on display. So I bought a slice! It is going down the hatch, with the help of some green tea.

  5. Lu
    July 6, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Ah Ha! Guinea Pigs indeed….! I used to make a carrot cake – that I was more than happy with… now have to hunt that recipe down… will send you a note, once I’ve found it and tested it again (just to make sure the taste-buds are still in agreement with my memory!) Oddly enough, I was really “lus” for a slice of carrot cake earlier today… Odd, but happy coincidence methinks!

    • July 7, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      I have found some very willing guinea pigs in Willie’s work colleagues. My plan for all The Ultimate testing is to keep a slice of whatever for myself to taste, and then send the rest along to them. Not sure how good the feedback will be, but at least I won’t be making a pig of myself! 😉

      Willie, by the way, does not eat cake anymore. Just healthy stuff. So boring!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Search for “The Ultimate” taken to new heights « Notes from Africa - August 16, 2010

    […] I thought I took the search for “The Ultimate” recipes to extremes . . . This takes the search to completely new […]

  2. wanted: baked – the ultimate cheesecake « clouded marbles - June 5, 2011

    […] must be a little over a month now since I joined the search for the Ultimate Cheesecake, a particular quest of Lisa’s that I read about in July 2010, in all […]

Leave a Reply

