Eek, there’s a mouse . . .

This has got to rate as one of the “grossest” (is that a real word?) stories I have come across in a while . . . but strangely fascinating as well! If you don’t like that kind of thing, you probably should stop reading NOW.

Apparently, it happened back in January 2009 (how did I miss this?!), but the court case has just been concluded, so it’s in the news again. So what am I talking about? Well, as the story goes, a man making sandwiches for his children found an almost whole dead mouse (it was missing its tail) in the loaf of bread . . . Judging by the photo (and only click on the censored image if you have a strong stomach!), it landed in the bread tin before being baked. I won’t go into the details here, so if you want to know more go to the story link.

The company involved (based in London, UK) has been fined after admitting to having failed to maintain acceptable hygiene standards. Really?! When I read this I was thinking of  bubonic plague and other rodent-borne (or rather flea-on-rodent borne) diseases. I shudder to think that if this is what can happen in the UK, there is a good chance it could happen here in South Africa . . .

If this had happened to me, it would put me off sandwiches for life! The worst I’ve ever found in my groceries are a snail and a worm in the lettuce (not at the same time), and weavils in flour.  I’m going to be examining my groceries very carefully from now on!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Health/Healthcare

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Eek, there’s a mouse . . .”

  1. Dave Joubert
    September 29, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    In Northern Namibia, bubonic plague sometimes still occurs, some gerbils are carriers. But it seems not in plague proportions so I suppose one has to call it something else. One would hope that a well baked mouse (and its attendant fleas) would just add to the flavour and protein content of the bread 😉

    • September 30, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      Maybe some people wouldn’t mind the combination, but I think that I would prefer my bread and protein source to be separate!

  2. September 29, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Eeeuw!! That’s super gross!!

    Don’t know if you’ll find baked rodent-bread here in South Africa, but I’d advise you to check flavored milk. Knew someone who once (a few years ago) found a dead something or other in a 500ml milky, it was strawberry flavored if memory serves me right . . . er . . . that was the flavour of the milk, not the mouse.

    Yikes! Rodent-bread 😦 What a good motivation to bake my own (rodent-free) bread! Sure hope you weren’t eating when you came across this!

    • September 30, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      “Baked rodent-bread”? You make it sound like it’s a common thing.

      Now that (strawberry and rodent flavoured milk) is a mental image I did NOT need!

  3. September 30, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Yes, I think grossest is a word, and it sure describes this story! I saw it on the news here and was quite disgusted. My husband once heard of a guy who found a lizard in his beer bottle … eeeuuww!
    Sunshine xx

    • September 30, 2010 at 11:35 am #

      Oh yes, you’re right there at the source of the story! Did you change the brand of bread you buy?

  4. Global_Furry_Conspiracy
    September 30, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    When I was living in a student hostel (we called it “Smut Hall”), I discovered a long bit of coarse string baked into my slice of bread one day. We found that it continued through the next slices on our table. Had probably been used to tie up a flour sack. How lucky for me it had not been a bit of bakery mouse – I had only noticed the string after taking a hearty bite!

    Once spoke to a guy who worked in a bakery and so I mentioned I had recently seen a mouse scampering about the bread section at our local (large) supermarket. He said laconically “where there’s flour, there’s mice and/or rats” – just a question of how much you can control them in a food-processing environment.

    • September 30, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      I am beginning to wonder whether it was such a great idea to start this topic . . .

Leave a Reply

