It’s so SMART!

Having worked in the computer industry for a number of years, I never considered myself to be technologically challenged. Okay, so I wasn’t ever into playing computer games or other nerdy pursuits, but I’ve always liked “toys” (electronic gadgets). As I wasn’t able to work in recent years though, I was quite happy with not having the latest gadgets. So my iPod is not the latest model, and my cellphone (mobile phone) wasn’t the latest technology. But they worked well, and did what I needed them to do.

As far as my cellphone was concerned I had a good basic phone, and as long as it did the job, I was happy.  I didn’t really see the point of having a fancy phone camera, or being able to check my email, or being able to find out where I was on a map and ask for directions. I was usually at my desk where I could do most of that stuff on my PC.  And digital cameras are for taking photos with.

Well, no more! When my old phone died recently, I got a “smartphone” (thanks to my “sponsor”!).  Because of my current financial status (i.e. unemployed) it isn’t the very latest or fanciest model either. And it doesn’t have a touch screen (just a QWERTY keyboard). But boy, is it SMART!

After getting a really cute kitten followed a couple of years later by a really cute puppy, I’m finding having a good phone camera is just the thing to capture all those cute doggie/kitty moments.  Especially as they are now good buddies, and are doing cute things together. And as I’m not at my desk all the time, being able to check my email from wherever I am is very useful. When I wake up during the night and can’t go back to sleep, I spend hours catching up on the news, or reading the blogs I follow. I also spend a lot of time telling my phone where I want to go and letting it work out the best way to get there. Just for fun . . .  I’m not travelling much at this stage!

Then there’s the aspect of it helping me to get more organized. The whole calendar/appointment/task function is more advanced, and my phone keeps letting me know what I’m supposed to be doing when. A godsend to people like me who have short-term memory issues. I’m no longer fretting about what it is I’m supposed to remember to do.

And besides all those wonderful features, it’s very good at making calls and doing messaging too! The only thing it won’t be able to do is get cell reception in the Kalahari. Of course that’s not the phone’s fault, but maybe in the future some time they’ll make an absolutely BRILLIANT (and cheap!) phone which can switch over to satellite reception in remote areas.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Science/Technology

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

7 Comments on “It’s so SMART!”

  1. October 4, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    That sounds like an impressive and useful piece of technology! Now I want one! Mine is the old-fashioned kind that just allows me to make and receive calls and sms’s … my last phone had a great camera which really allowed for spontaneity. I’d often stop in my car to photograph a funny signpost or billboard or whatever!
    Sunshine x

    • October 4, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

      I never knew what I was missing until I got this new phone!

      I see that some of the WordPress bloggers, who are professional photographers, “downgrade” to using their phone cameras sometimes. Depressingly, they still take better photos than the rest of us . . .

      Another very useful function for me, is being able to access my Goodreads.com “to-read” booklist on my phone, when I’m at the library. I used to wander around for ages trying to remember the names of authors and books! And printing out the list at home is just so un-cool. 🙂

  2. GeoRoMancer
    October 4, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Hmm, maybe I should try to become a toy-boy (instead of trying to be a hardworking hubby) so I too can get some nice boy-toys!!!

    When I got my current phone several years ago, I thought it was OK that the camera was quite rudimentary. In time, I found out just how useful it is to have a camera always with you: for instance, when you are checking out the DIY yards or other shops and need to make a quick note of what an article looks like and how much it costs at various places, just snap some shots and compare them later – faster and “funner” than making a list.

    Now what I want is to have a better cellphone camera, built-in GPS and some luvly apps that combine them. One phone to rule them all. In fact, all I want for Xmas is my two front teeth – and an “Apple-of-my-Eye” phone. Sponsoress, are you listening?

    • October 4, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

      Are you sure that’s ALL you do with your cellphone camera? 😉

      Tip: You need to find a sponsor(ess) who understands the need for toys!

  3. October 5, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I have a task for you – check out my blog!
    Sunshine xx

  4. October 6, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    Sounds like you did the right buy for the features you need. It can be so difficult to find something that has most (if not all) of the functionality you need.

    I’m due for an upgrade on my phone in a couple of months. The Qwerty keyboard feature is a must for me and back on my requirement list. I find myself “short-handing” when I type messages on the normal keypad. Enjoy your new toy!

    • October 6, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Oh, I’m sure if I try I can find something lacking! 😉 But I always find you can’t have it all. So you pick something that has the feature that are really important to you.

Leave a Reply

