Doing my “homework”

I am currently researching a couple of the blog topics which have been suggested to me (see The Suggestion Box). They’re very good and interesting topics – things I’ve wondered about myself. They just require a little more effort, in research and thought, to put together.  It’s not just a matter of dashing off a quick post.

The first couple I’m doing were all suggested by people I know. It seems they want me to start posting about more serious topics. I’m just not sure my brain can cope with “serious” yet, besides I like being lighthearted and frivolous!

It got me to thinking about the blogs I follow. A couple of them focus on particular topics and/or have a serious tone. Others, like mine, seem to be a collection of the blogger’s random thoughts with some humour thrown in. My blogs (this one and the photoblog I also write) were started as hobbies. Fun, creative things to do when I’m having a good day. And also a way to discuss all the interesting stories that I come across in podcasts, in books or online, and with which I used to bore Willie. Although he seems to follow my blog, so maybe they weren’t that boring?!

A friend of mine remarked the other day that I seem to be finding a “comfort level” in my blogging in terms of content, tone and how much of my own opinions/feelings I reveal.  I think she’s right – I definitely am finding it easier to express myself the more I write. I’m mostly writing for myself, although the fact that I do have some readers is great.

I am constantly amazed at how some bloggers can write wonderful and long posts on a daily basis. Obviously, the difference between them and me, is that they’re natural writers. One thing I don’t want this blog to become is a chore. That I feel I’m just trying to churn out posts, and I become overwhelmed.

At this stage I’m still having fun though  . . . so I guess I should stop procrastinating and get back to my “homework”!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

