Khaki isn’t Khaki

Khaki (the colour) isn’t khaki . . . well, it obviously is, but it wasn’t what I thought it was. You’re probably saying to yourself “okay . . . so what . . .?”. [Go to the bottom of the post for a “lesson” in Khaki!]

The reason I’m amazed to discover this is that I’m really into colours. At least into looking at them. In my own life, I like a very limited (fairly neutral) colour palette for my own clothes or furnishings. But I like looking at colour palettes and seeing the different shades of a basic colour. A while back somebody asked me what colours I liked. I didn’t just say blue, green etc, I said something like: sage, olive green, teal, burnt orange, cinnamon . . .! As a child I used to love getting those big boxes of crayons or coloured pencils with a lot of shades in them. When I got older it was artist’s paints and pastels, and make-up palettes. From quite an early age I was memorizing the names of the colours. Sometimes the names – papaya, orchid, cantaloupe, chartreuse, viridian – were even more interesting to me than the colour itself.

If you have been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I have changed my WordPress theme a couple of times, and my header and link colours countless times.  I just can’t seem to find a theme/colour scheme which I like enough to stick with. Or if I like it, I get bored with it, and want to try other colours I like. This week (again) a friend had to look at various colour combinations for me, and tell me what was “wrong” with them. I usually end up choosing colours by elimination i.e. which colours I like least. The reason I ask a friend, is that even though I like colours, I don’t always see them too well. I’m not colour blind, but I often have problems distinguishing between certain shades. Which means I can sometimes put the wrong shades together.

So after a couple of days of tweaking and testing, here it finally is: my new-look site. And I’m really happy with it . . . at least for now!

Shades of Khaki

NOT Khaki but "Websafe 996600" or Deep Amber

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Khaki isn’t Khaki”

  1. November 6, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    I like your new-look site!
    Sunshine xx

Leave a Reply

