Photo day: Keeping safe?

The other day when the dog and I went for our early morning walk, I was looking at some of the measures folks in our neighbourhood are taking to “keep safe”. There are high walls (we have them too as they came with the house), security doors and gates, various types of medieval-looking spikes on top of some of those walls (which we thankfully don’t have), there was razor wire on top of a couple of the fences and even electrified fences (although there was no proof that they were live).

We live in an area which is quieter crime-wise. A lot of people who live here though, have relocated from the bigger high-crime cities. It looks like they still don’t feel safe.

I wondered how the neighbourhood cats coped with these obstacles. It seems they do okay. The other day I watched a cat run up a high wall with spikes on it. I was expecting it to get hurt, but it in one movement the cat grabbed the top of the wall, and catapulted itself over into the garden beyond. Clever kitty!

Are these wall spikes keeping people safe?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Photo day: Keeping safe?”

  1. November 16, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I wonder how much practice that poor kitty had to have before mastering the wall? Shame.
    I’m not sure that high walls and electrified fences really do it, but I guess it’s more about feeling safe than being safe, if that makes sense?
    Sunshine

    • November 16, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

      About the kitty: I don’t know. I’m just glad that our immediate neighbours don’t go to such lengths. Don’t want our cat to get injured.

      I think that those safety measures help for opportunistic type of crimes, but not for those that are well thought out.

  2. November 16, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    There are a variety of security / safety measures in our town. Some houses have really high fencing, others just have walls at the back and sides of the property for a bid to privacy. They are not fenced at the side that faces the streets.

    For the most part I think people rely a lot here on alarm systems and the security firms that monitor it. We also have neighborhood watch in place. It all helps to discourage criminal activity, but even the best efforts won’t stop the serious criminals or seriously opportunistic ones.

    I don’t recall seeing any of that angry looking spike-type thingies around here, which is good news for all our neighborhood cats who love to roam at night. If a cat is in a hurry it just might end up getting seriously hurt on that stuff.

    • November 19, 2010 at 7:53 am #

      Of course we have the alarm systems/armed response thing in our town too. But the locals feel it necessary to put up a lot of physical deterrents as well.

      Just a day after I posted it the security village that we border on decided to put up spikes on one of the walls that we share (at our driveway and the entrance to the village). It’s an 8 – 10 ft wall! Last night our cat comes in with a cut on her one paw. Don’t know if this is where she got it – she normally doesn’t sit on that wall – but it’s quite a coincidence.

      • November 19, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

        Ah, your paw, sorry, poor cat! So it seems the spikes will be a deterrent for cats …

      • November 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

        I hope the cut on her paw isn’t too bad?

      • November 20, 2010 at 6:10 am #

        From what I read on the Internet yesterday, it seems that some people in England ARE using the wall spikes specifically as cat deterrents. But they are apparently illegal there in most parts (this was posted on a forum, so I don’t know if it’s true or not). Apparently, those kind of things can only be used where e.g. an residential area borders on something like a freeway.

  3. November 19, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    I saw a lot of security measures like that – especially the glass – up in Tanzania. I never considered the poor cats trying to scale the walls. I hope your cat’s paw is ok. 😦

    • November 20, 2010 at 6:05 am #

      The vet says that the cut isn’t too bad. He also said he doesn’t think it was caused by the wall spikes – that those injuries are worse . . . Now I’m REALLY worried!

      I only had my phone camera with me the day I took the above photo. With an impatient dog trying to yank me away. Want to go back and take more photos of all the “security measures” for my photoblog. I find the whole concept sickening and worrying. It’s not the criminals who are in prison, it’s the regular folk.

  4. November 20, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    I’m glad your cat is ok and yes, worrisome that the vet sees worse injuries from the spikes. It is really interesting thinking about this issue…something I will ponder for awhile! Thanks Lisa.

    • November 21, 2010 at 7:11 am #

      Hopefully it’s not an issue in your part of the world. We live in a beautiful part of the country. Close to forests and mountains. So to see so many spiked walls etc seems completely out of place.

      • November 21, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

        What a contrast that must be to the beauty of the natural world around you. In some parts of our province and country people do go to great lengths to feel safe. But it’s pretty rare around here unless it’s the estate of very wealthy person.

  5. Marcus
    May 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    To keep cats safe. Keep them inside the garden. So easy.

    • May 18, 2012 at 6:54 am #

      Yeah, I was actually asking whether the wall spikes etc kept the people who lived there safe.

      As to the cats . . . Do you have one? Mine can scale a 7-ft wall without any problems, so keeping it in the garden is difficult!

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

