“Insights” of being sick

This past week I’ve had a bad bout of  “stomach flu”, so I haven’t had the energy to write. I’ll spare you the details although I will share these thoughts about the experience:

  • Staffies (or Staffordshire Bull Terriers) are excellent nurse dogs. Staffies are often referred to as “nanny dogs” because, despite their looks, they are very gentle with and protective of young children. Rosie, our staffie, proved to be an excellent companion. While the cat often did her own thing outside in the garden, Rosie stayed by my side and looked very distressed when I needed to be sick. She spent hours lying close by, “keeping watch”. This is no mean feat for an extremely active young dog. Especially as she hasn’t been on her regular daily walks since I got sick. I owe her big in terms of walking, and play sessions. (I did manage to feed her during the week though!)
  • When you don’t eat for a couple of days, you do start feeling very weak and shaky. What a surprise! 😉 Everything becomes a milestone. The first time you start keeping down liquids. The first time you can eat dry crackers and chicken soup (which really does work). The first time you can start eating other foods. After not being able to eat, I could feel my energy levels get a dramatic boost every time I ate something – even just a cracker. The first time you sleep well again.
  • You start to obsess about food. I have been thinking about what I want to eat once my stomach regained its sense of well-being. For me it’s been a hamburger. I’m not a big meat eater, and certainly not a hamburger fan, so where this comes from I don’t know. Anyway, I have been watching the Food Channel on television, looking at cookbooks, asking various people what nice things they’ve been eating etc. I’m hungry for something other than the “baby food” I’ve been on for the last couple of days.
  • “Fever dreams” can be really bizarre! Unfortunately, I didn’t write any down, so I can’t tell you what they were. Just know that they were even more exotic than my dreams usually are.
  • While “stomach flu” is a very efficient way of losing weight fast, I really wouldn’t recommend it. Being on a diet isn’t fun, feeling like you want to die is even less so.

So, it’s nothing earth-shattering, but pretty much all I can remember of the past week.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

8 Comments on ““Insights” of being sick”

  1. November 22, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    Sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well. I was also hit with that stomach flu on the other side of the world just this past week, so I understand how you feel on all points. If only I had a companion like Rosie, it may have been a tad better. 🙂 Hope you recover enough to get that hamburger soon!

    • November 22, 2010 at 8:15 am #

      Hi Jolene! I hope that you’re feeling better too. Did you have any food obsessions?

      • November 22, 2010 at 8:21 am #

        Actually, mint chocolate chip ice cream! It was really the only thing that sounded good.

      • November 22, 2010 at 8:37 am #

        Now that you mention it, I could go for that too! 🙂

  2. November 22, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Sorry to hear you’ve been ill – I did miss you! Glad you’re on the mend, and I hope you can regain your strength again soon – it’s awful to feel ill like that. Lovely Rosie at your side – how sweet is that? Take care 🙂

  3. November 22, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Sorry you haven’t been feeling well! In fact, sounds down right miserable. Glad you we’re here in Haiti with those kinds of symptoms–cholera scare and all! Good to know you’re feeling better and that Rosie provided such sweet care!

    • November 22, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      Yes, thank goodness I’m not in Haiti at the moment. There seem to be a lot of people in our town sick with stomach flu, so I’m wondering if there is/was something in our water.

      Dogs can be such a comfort, can’t they?

Leave a Reply

