What do they say about Karma?

The other day I was having a good chuckle at Renée’s (Life in the Boomer Lane) post about her distress at having a cricket in her bedroom. If you haven’t read her blog yet, it’s worth a visit. She’s always got a funny take on life’s events. One of her recent posts which I really enjoyed was  “That’s Not My Rabid Fox, Officer”.

But I digress . . . So Renée’s husband had killed the cricket that had been in her immediate vicinity, and she was feeling safe again.  Being all smug about things, I asked her if she thought that it was the only cricket in the house (well, they normally do travel in “packs”).  I just knew when I pushed the submit button on that comment, that this was really asking for trouble. And trouble I got! When a little cricket appeared in our house a day later, I thought: Oh okay, I can deal with this. Of course it didn’t end there . . .

No, not more crickets. We now have a rat regularly finding its way into our ceiling area. At least I think it’s a rat. By the noise it makes it sounds like a small dog i.e. too big for the cat to take on “single-handed”. Willie put down some eco-friendly traps (the ones that are like a little tunnel with a trapdoor at one end), so that he could trap and relocate “the monster”.  Unlike the cat who shows no mercy towards the rodents she catches, Willie has become very conservation orientated. He mostly does the “catch and release” thing with the fish he catches. And also the “catch and relocate” thing with any “wild beasties” he catches inside the house.

Brown Rat - can you see the evil glint in its eye?!

So Willie put the traps into the ceiling, and we waited. We didn’t have to wait long. That evening, and on a nightly basis since then, the rat has been visiting our house. We know he’s (I think it’s a “he” because it literally stomps around the ceiling!) not there all the time, because he makes a lot of noise when he arrives. We hear him go into one of the traps. The trapdoor comes down. Then there’s frantic scrabbling. Little claws scratching at the sides of the trap. Then after about five minutes there’s the sound of the trapdoor opening, and the rat leaves again.

So there are basically two possibilities:

  1. The rat has figured out how to open the trapdoor.
  2. The rat has an accomplice who comes to rescue him.

Neither of those options really appeals to me.  There is of course one way to find out what’s up there . . . As soon as we hear the trapdoor come down, one of us needs to run up a ladder and go and take a look before he does his escape trick. By “one of us”, I don’t mean me!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

7 Comments on “What do they say about Karma?”

  1. November 23, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Haha. That’s hilarious. I hope he doesn’t have an accomplice…

    And I agree – there is definitely an evil little glint in that rat’s eye!

  2. November 23, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    If only you could put a camera up there and see what’s happening. I go into cartoon mode, imagining the rat calling his buddy to come and rescue him! And of course it shouldn’t be you to go and check…

    • November 23, 2010 at 11:05 am #

      A camera . . . now there’s a good idea! Need one of those motion-activated video cameras. With night-vision capabilities (it’s dark up there)! OR . . . we could call in some “professionals” i.e. rodent hit-men.

      Really wish I could draw. This would make for a nice cartoon.

  3. November 23, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Great post, Lisa! When we were living in Hanoi, I woke up to use the restroom in the night, only to find a cat-sized rat perched atop the bathroom door–just hanging out, in no real hurry to run and hide. Let’s just say, I was not happy about this arrangment, his squatting in my house–not paying rent and all–free-loader! So far in Haiti we only have mice and lizards.

    • November 23, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

      Thanks. While I can joke about it during the daylight hours, I won’t be joking tonight when it’s time for a visit from “the monster”.

      I am really hoping that “our” rat isn’t a match for your Vietnamese one . . .

  4. February 12, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    Having an experience with a few mice in my home a few years past, I can find the humor in this blog. I do not mice, I become a raven lunatic when confronted with one, let alone a rat. I think a camera would be a great way to spy on the activities of the rat,or better yet a setting a trap for his and maybe other little creatures lurking around for dismantling their disappearance !!!

    • February 12, 2011 at 6:40 am #

      About a week after I wrote that post, the rat stopped visiting us. So we never got to get creative with our rodent-busting!

Leave a Reply

