Photo Day: Beautiful Lilies

The people in our town are very proud of their gardens. Every year in Spring, there is a Garden Open Day. If you think your garden will make the grade, you can submit it to the committee for consideration to be included in the annual garden tour. On one Saturday (usually in September), you can buy a map of the Garden Tour which shows the location of some 20 or so gardens. These will have been selected in various categories – according to size and type (e.g. tropical, fynbos – our natural vegetation here –  or arid) of garden. You can select which gardens you would like to see, or you can see them all if you have the whole day. A tea garden is usually set up in one of the large gardens, so that one is guaranteed to be one everyone’s list!

When Rosie and I go on our morning walk, I always take a look at the neighbourhood gardens. This is what I saw this morning. Unfortunately, I only had a cellphone camera with me, but I think you can still see how beautiful these lilies are.

Beautiful Lilies

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Photo Day: Beautiful Lilies”

  1. November 24, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    Beautiful flowers must mean it’s warm there…We are below freezing for a third night in a row. If only I’d booked that trip to Cape Town like I’d originally intended earlier in the year! Sounds like a great place to be right about now. 🙂

    • November 24, 2010 at 8:25 am #

      I don’t know, I like cold and snow too. My family is all from Northern Europe so I think I’m genetically programmed not to tolerate heat too well.

      We’re in early summer here. Spring/early summer is actually a nice time of year in the Cape. Starting to get warm, but not too hot yet. Mornings are often cool, but not cold.

  2. November 24, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Ah, those are very beautiful lilies! I remember reading bout those open days, but never went. Have you been to any? They sound so special.
    Snow’s on the way here, later this week.
    Sunshine xx

    • November 24, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

      Yes, I did go on the Garden Tour a couple of years back. It was like going on a treasure hunt. I went with a group of ladies and we zigzagged all over town. You didn’t know what you were going to find in the next garden. All were amazing and obviously tended to with a great deal of loving care.

      It turned out that a neighbour a couple of houses down was selected. Was quite stunning what was hidden behind their garden wall! Their front yard was just the “tip of the iceberg”.

Leave a Reply

