Photo day: Dewy Web

[Update: Read Who you gonna call? for a spider identification]

On our morning walk, I came across an open field where there were dozens of these spider webs in the grass. I’m not sure what kind of spiders they are, but hopefully they’re the harmless, friendly kind! 🙂 Any South Africans who know what they could be, please leave a comment. The webs are approximately 10 – 20 cm across.

Dewy Web (click on image to enlarge)

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Photo day: Dewy Web”

  1. November 29, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    Despite the fact spiders make my skin crawl, I still love webs – especially how they look in the mornings when they collect dew. I have no idea what produced this one, but judging by the amount of web it produced, it probably isn’t all that small….There were dozens?? You are braver than I am to go walking there. Shiver.

    • November 29, 2010 at 6:42 am #

      I couldn’t see any of the spiders, but I was also thinking that they would be quite big. The “hole” in the center of the web is a good size.

      I was actually walking on a road next to the field, with hiking boots on. And I just leaned across one of the webs at the edge of the field to take the photo. So not so brave!

  2. November 29, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    Wow, that’s a whole lot of web … like a web factory. Lovely photo. I have no clue what they could be but am interested to find out.
    Sunshine

    • November 29, 2010 at 10:52 am #

      Yes, they were all very thickly spun webs. See my follow up post for the identification.

  3. November 29, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    “Holy spider webs, Batman!” Yikes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photowalk: around the neighbourhood « clouded marbles - May 10, 2011

    […] we came to a clearing, also known as Lisa’s park where she took some photos previously of funnel spider webs.  This wasn’t far into our walk and poor Rosie was trying her best to be patient.  We […]

Leave a Reply

