It’s snowing in Africa!!!

[Update: For photographs of real snow in Southern Africa, click here]

December 1 and it’s snowing in Africa!!! Actually it’s snowing in the Kalahari specifically (see my header). Well, on my WordPress blog it is anyway.

Thanks WordPress for making me laugh on a day that is always the beginning of a difficult month for me. Not only is it difficult to get into the Christmas spirit when you’re broiling in the African heat, but I specifically don’t look forward to December and Christmas, because it’s one of my worst migraine months. I’m usually miserable in December (and miserable to be around!), and Christmas is my least favourite holiday in the year.

Snowing in the Kalahari!

In the last couple of weeks I’ve been visiting the blogs of those that live in the Northern Hemisphere, and looking longingly at the photos of the snowfalls they’ve just had. My brother (who lives in Northern Europe) emails me photos of the snow where he lives. December is the month I try to re-watch all the movies that I love which have lots of snow in them . . . Fargo, Smilla’s Sense of Snow . . . Somehow seeing the snow on the screen, and locked in my cave of darkness and air conditioning, I can imagine I’m there for a short while.

And now I have snow falling on my screen. Thanks WordPress! For the laugh, and for trying to get me into a festive mood.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

13 Comments on “It’s snowing in Africa!!!”

  1. December 1, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    That’s so funny! But I’m glad it “warms” your heart to have snow falling on your screen! Come and spend December in London some time … my current blog header is a photo I took this morning from our flat!
    Strength to you for your migraine month – not fun, I’m sure. xx

    • December 1, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

      Your header: That’s a really nice photo. Thanks for sharing it.

      Migraines: Thanks. It’s early days yet, so I can still laugh about it. 🙂

  2. December 1, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Okay, Lisa, I totally love the header!!!! And from here in Haiti, I really miss the snow. In fact, I look forward to going home to the US for the holidays, not just to see my family, but also to enjoy some colder weather. I’m sorry to hear your migraines get so bad this time of year–I can see how that would make you feel less festive.

    I promise to send snow photos, if we get some in Kentucky while I’m home. Hang in there!

    • December 1, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

      Guess Haiti must be pretty hot and humid for most of the year?

      You must be looking forward to your trip home. Are the dogs going too?

  3. December 1, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I thought there was something wrong with my screen last night when I saw the “snow”. That is pretty funny.

    If you’re craving snow, Fargo is the movie to watch. Those snow-swept back roads in Minnesota are where I grew up and learned how to drive. I nearly lost limbs and pieces of my face standing in sub-zero temps waiting for my school bus as a kid. I think that’s why I’m over it now and would trade you for your African heat any day. 🙂

    • December 1, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

      So you really know about snow then! Still think I’d like to experience snow and cold like that some time. With the option of course of leaving if it got too much, and going home to thaw out again.

  4. December 2, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    So, I waited for snow on my page so I could see it “snow in Dublin”, but it doesn’t snow! Then I visit your page, and I see snow. Is WordPress being selective about who gets to see the white stuff?? 🙂

    • December 2, 2010 at 8:23 am #

      No, you have to turn it on in your options. Go to Dashboard -> Appearance -> Extras. It’s the first option.

      • December 2, 2010 at 8:25 am #

        Thanks, Lisa…I neglected to actually research it. Lol.

  5. December 2, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    LOL – when I first saw the snow falling on the WordPress home page, I thought there was something wrong with my eyes.

    I hope your migraines aren’t too bad this month.

    • December 2, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      Think the “snow” confused quite a few people.

      Thanks for visiting, and the good wishes!

  6. December 5, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    I love the snow in your header, and the little snowman that made an appearance recently! He’s a lively fellow isn’t he, moving from one part of the Kalahari to the next? But I guess he does need to find shade every now and then 😉

    I’m having a lot of fun playing with the snow on your blog 😛 – it’s probably the closest I’ll ever get to experiencing it here in SA. Great job with all the editing!

    • December 5, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      I’m having lots of fun with my header too!

      The snowman didn’t look that comfortable where he was, so I found a better place for him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

