Is it snowing in the Kalahari?

Is it snowing in the Kalahari? No, it isn’t. As far as I’m aware it never has. Frost maybe, in mid-winter, but no snow. Definitely no snow now in the African summer.

I sometimes look at what searches people have done to find my blog. I’m not the most prolific “tag-ger” out there, so I’m always a little amazed when people find my blog via one of the search engines. Usually of course they are looking for something totally different.

Common search terms I see are “notes about Africa” or “African stories” or “bedtime stories” (the title of one of my earlier posts!). I can’t but think that these people must be horribly disappointed when they find me, instead of something more serious. Sometimes though, I think they do find what they’re looking for e.g. my book “reviews”. Although these are more thoughts, than proper reviews though, so are probably also a disappointment.

Today somebody was searching on “has it snowed in the Kalahari”. I hope they didn’t take yesterday’s post seriously. It was my attempt at humour. The “snow” falling down my screen is courtesy of WordPress. The “snow” in my header photograph of the Kalahari, was created by me using Paintshop Pro. So it’s just me being silly and trying to get myself through a difficult month.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Is it snowing in the Kalahari?”

  1. December 2, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Don’t sell yourself short! You might get some regular readers out of those random tags. I happen to think that your posts are thoughtful and intelligent with a good dose of humor. Keep writing, keep taking pictures! You’re good at it!!

    Speaking of search terms, my favorites off my own blog this week are: learn to love guiness, the revenj of the missipp squarl, statistics on cat scratch fever, “neptune theater” and “haunted” or “ghost”.

  2. December 2, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Thanks for the kind comments!

    Search terms: Gee, I get such boring ones in comparison! Have you ever used any of those words in your tags?

    • December 2, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

      Haha. Most of those terms makes sense because of blog titles and tags (The Irish Really Do Love Guinees, A Lot, for example). But, the squirrel one gets me because it isn’t spelled correctly and I have no idea what the revenge (also spelled way wrong) of the mississippi (spelled wrong) squarl is. It made me laugh, though.

  3. December 2, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Interesting, Lisa! Do you have any pointers on how to pull in more traffic from search engines? I know nothing really about tagging (though I include them) or about registering my blog with Yahoo, Google, etc. Have you done that? I haven’t. Don’t know how. Wonder if it would make a difference.

    • December 2, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

      If you’re on WordPress.com, and have set the option under Dashboard -> Settings – Privacy correctly, you’ll be automatically visible on the search engines. I’ve never tagged with the view to being found by the search engines, so have just tagged to make it easier to navigate my site. Think most of my traffic comes from within WordPress. People looking me up after seeing comments I’ve left on other blogs, or searching on specific tags within WordPress, or fellow bloggers giving me some free “advertising”! 😉

    • December 2, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

      Kathryn, I’ve just checked and you’re very visible on Google. Typed in a random phrase from one of your posts, and it immediately came up with your blog. Your tags look fine to me too.

  4. December 2, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Why would people be disappointed to find you? Your blog is really great, interesting, unique! I really enjoy it and am glad we have connected in blogland!
    The snow continues to fall in London and all over the UK. Sending some coolness your way!
    Sunshine xx

    • December 2, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

      Thank you! Wasn’t trying to fish for compliments, but it’s nice getting them.

      I guess that my self-confidence took a hell of a knock during the last couple of years. I basically went from being “on top of my game” and very confident, to not being able to work or cope with very much at all. So because I don’t find myself or my life very interesting, I can’t see why anybody else should. And there are just so many more talented bloggers (like yourself!) out there.

      I am really enjoying the blogging. Friends have told me that they see some of my old spark coming back.

  5. Estie
    December 3, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I love your blog!

    • December 3, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

      Thanks Estie! Nice to hear from you. Comments from you are very welcome, so don’t be shy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

