Photo day: Boots and Lead

These are two of Rosie’s favourite things. My boots and her lead. She sees these and she knows a walk is imminent. She sees these, and she follows me around the house (even when the boots aren’t on my feet) in case I try and sneak off without her! And the longer I walk around gathering my things, the more impatient she gets. So once she sees these, there’s no backing out of a walk.

[Note: the reason my boots are so frayed is that Rosie liked chewing on them with she was little. The inside padding around the ankle of the left boot is almost all gone!]

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Photo day: Boots and Lead”

  1. December 7, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Awww. I have just spent the last three hours editing dog photos, so I’m in the perfect frame of mind to appreciate this. How long have you had her?

  2. December 7, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    We got her at the end of February 2009. She’ll be two years old on the 24th December. So still a young dog. But she learned about walks really early on!

    Hope you are going to be posting your dog photos.

    • December 7, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      I’ll bet she has a lot of energy and pulls you along on your walks!

      Once I’m finished editing, I plan on posting a few. This was my first paid job, so I want to do well and am taking a lot longer to edit than I normally would. The pressure!!

      • December 7, 2010 at 10:44 am #

        Rosie has actually got better re: the pulling since I’ve been training her. What is alarming though, is that she often comes back from a long walk with more energy than before she went!

        Look forward to seeing the photos. Maybe a new career for you – animal/pet photographer?

  3. December 7, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I can relate to this! Unfortunately, it’s not safe to walk here in Haiti outside our compound–but when our dogs Ralph and Lucy see Ralph’s leash or Lucy’s backpack carrier–they know a ride in the car is imminent–and there’s no calming them until that drive is under way!

    • December 7, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

      So the security issue affects Ralph and Lucy too. At least they get to go on car rides.

  4. December 7, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    So you and Rosie keep each other fit! I can imagine her getting all impatient for you to get ready. On first reading, I thought your title meant lead (as in the heavy metal)!
    Sunshine xx

    • December 7, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Yes, Rosie’s my little 4-legged personal trainer! She wakes me up around 5 a.m. (when it’s getting light out) to let me know that it’s time to go.

      I wondered after I published the post whether the title would be confusing. In the dictionary it says that “leash” is the American word for “lead”, although I know a lot of South Africans and Europeans who also use “leash”.

      • December 7, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

        It’s just one of those words. And it made the title more interesting for me.
        I can’t even imagine getting up at 5am at the moment – it’s freezing and pitch dark here at that time!

      • December 7, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

        My posts are an absolute jumble of UK and US spellings and words, with some South African-isms thrown in!

        I can’t really imagine getting up at 5 a.m. either . . . but it happens EVERY day! 😉

  5. December 7, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    “the reason my boots are so frayed is that Rosie liked chewing on them with she was little”

    LOL, and here I thought it was because they are just well-worn! Sounds like Rosie’s teeth did a good deal of the “wearing” 😉

Leave a Reply

