Photo day: Who’s a clever girl then?

I know I must sound like a doting parent, but we do have a very clever dog! She’s currently learning English. Okay, she doesn’t speak it, but she understands an amazing amount of words already. Must be because I’m always talking to her. Somehow that makes me feel less crazy than talking to myself . . .

Mention (even in conversation to another human) the words “rope”, “ball”, “walk”, “milk” etc and you have a hard time calming down a very excited and expectant dog. So we have had to resort to using descriptions of things, when we don’t want to say the words out loud. So “rope” becomes “the long, twisty thing”, “ball” becomes “the round blue thing” etc. Of course when she’s figured out those phrases, we are going to have to resort to spelling out the words!

Rosie (©2010 LB)

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Photo day: Who’s a clever girl then?”

  1. December 10, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    I think we’re allowed to dote on our pet/s!

    Gosh, what phrase do you use to replace “walk”? 🙂 At first, I thought to say that spelling the words should be easier (on you), but then I thought – she’d probably learn the alphabet a lot faster than picking out the words used in the phrases 😉

    She looks adorable!

    • December 10, 2010 at 10:12 am #

      Thanks for thinking she’s adorable too. I loved the photo, so had to find a way of using it!

      Walk = “going for a stroll/hike”. Said quickly and in monotone so that she doesn’t latch onto any particular word. 🙂

  2. December 10, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    She looks like she’s thinking…I’ve never said before in my life that a dog looks smart. But, I believe yours actually does. You do have a clever girl!

    • December 10, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks for indulging me!

      It’s the frown that makes it look like she’s thinking. Less impressive once you realize that she frowns 90% of the time!

  3. December 10, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Hysterical post–and I TOTALLY understand what you’re saying. I’m reduced to doting-parent-status on a daily basis!

    But let me dote with you, allbeit from a distance. She is really cute (and probably knows it)!

    Finally, I KNOW–

    –god-forbid you actually utter “the words!.” –Yikes! Danger!

    • December 10, 2010 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks! And yes, she does know she’s cute. She’s been hearing that on a daily basis from almost everybody she meets. Am sure that “pretty”, “cute” and “sweet” are on the list of words she understands.

  4. December 10, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Yes, she is a clever girl. And very cute indeed!
    Hugs from London xx

  5. Estie
    December 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    She is beautiful and clever and family. I am a lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

