Guinea fowl family

Until this morning, I had only seen adult guinea fowl running around in our road. This morning when Rosie and I went for our walk, this is what we saw! There are about twenty adults in the “clan”, and a whole bunch of little ones. They weren’t keen to have their photos taken, so I only got to take quick snapshots. When I started approaching them, the adults herded the little ones down the road into a patch of high grass.

I will try and get some better and in-focus photos of them in the next couple of days.

What is really amazing about this, is that we live in a built-up residential area, yet have got a lot of birds in our gardens which either belong in the forests, or in more rural areas.

 

Guinea fowl family

Guinea fowl chicks

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Guinea fowl family”

  1. December 15, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I love guinea fowl! We hear them calling every evening on the Melville Koppies across the valley from our house. I haven’t seen any babies yet though.

    • December 15, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      I also love guinea fowl. Their feathers are so pretty. Our neighbours must think I’m crazy though – running around in the early morning trying to photograph them. Don’t think they share my enthusiasm!

  2. December 15, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Awww, lovely! I also love guinea fowl – especially when there’s a whole clan of them! We’d sometimes see them in our Cape Town suburbs too.
    Sunshine xx

    • December 15, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

      Yes, I remember that too. We used to live in Tokai when I was at school. In those days there was still a lot of open land.

  3. December 15, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    How precious, Lisa! Don’t know that I’ve ever seen a guinea fowl before! Hope you are feeling well! Take care!

  4. January 24, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Interesting to see numbers like that …. taking up the ecological benefits of the diversity found in residential gardens? We find them here quite at home scratching in the undergrowth of our hedges. Fewer predators than out in the wilds, although they’d be on the watch for domestic cats?

    • January 24, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

      I don’t think the domestic cats are much of a problem to the guinea fowl. The adult birds are very good parents and guard the little ones quite ferociously. Our cat can be out in the garden and barely glances in their direction.

Leave a Reply

