Preening Doves

Yesterday afternoon we had a couple of drops of rain. This pair of doves felt that this warranted half an hour of preening to get their feathers all dry and in place again. I hadn’t realised until I started taking photographs of them how pretty their feathers are.

(You can click on any of the photographs if you want to see more detail.)

©2010 notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

 

©2010 notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

 

©2010 notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

 

©2010 notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Preening Doves”

  1. December 16, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Their feathers are really pretty – I’ve never spent too much time looking at doves! Thanks for these photos. I always find the cooing noises they make to be really weird, and those sounds always remind me of my university days, for some reason.
    Sunshine xx

    • December 16, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

      Maybe they remind you of UCT because there WERE a lot of doves there?! With all the parks, London must have a lot of them too.

      • December 16, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

        True, Lisa, very true! They always used to coo outside my hall of residence, usually before I was ready to wake up! Yes, there are loads of doves here in London.

      • December 16, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

        Which residence were you in? I was in Fuller Hall for my first year, and then moved out into private accommodation.

      • December 16, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

        I was in Baxter Hall for the duration of my studies.

      • December 17, 2010 at 7:20 am #

        This brings back memories! 🙂

  2. December 16, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    These are good pictures. I think doves are underappreciated, we tend to overlook them because they are so visible (if that makes sense).

    I love watching their antics at the onset of spring.

    • December 16, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

      Thanks! I never really paid much attention to doves until we started going to the Kalahari and I saw them through a zoom lens.

      Saw a male dove almost fall backwards off the roof the other day trying to impress the female! Good thing doves have wings! 😉

  3. December 17, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    To my knowledge, we don’t have doves that look like that here. I love how this turned out. Gorgeous colors and details of the feathers.

    • December 17, 2010 at 7:19 am #

      These are Laughing Doves (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laughing_Dove) which according to Wikipedia don’t occur in the US.

      I am pleased with how the photos turned out. Find I can only get really good colour when the light is soft i.e. early morning or when it’s an overcast day (like it was here).

  4. December 19, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    I must have missed this post while I was traveling back to the US. Sorry to get to it so late. Great photos, though, and the feathers are beautiful!

    • December 19, 2010 at 6:15 am #

      Thanks Kathy! I am surprised that you have had the time to keep up with your blog reading and posting at all.

Leave a Reply

