What happens if you obsess about something just before Christmas?

Well, if you’re me and you’ve been obsessing about spiders, spider webs, spider identification and spider photography (and not just on your blog!), you get these as Christmas gifts:

Wonderful! How did you guess this is something that I wanted, and more importantly needed?! 😉 So in case you can’t see in the photos, I got two of the top guides to Spiders of Southern Africa (one of them co-written by Astri Leroy from The Spider Club). With loads of photos and drawings of spiders and spider webs. And even a pictorial  guide of how, if you were an orb spider, you would start spinning your web.

I started reading them last night. Besides all the information relating to the identification of spiders, they also discuss topics like spider evolution, how spiders function, how spiders perceive their world (maybe the authors  have an “embedded spider” which gives them inside info?! :-)) and the very important issue of spider venom. The message: spiders are really nice creatures that mean us humans no harm. Oh, and then there are the chapters on finding, collecting and photographing spiders. Think I’ll give the “collecting” bit a miss though.

So what happened after I finally went to bed? I dreamt about spiders of course. In my dream, I am walking towards the door that connects the house to the garage, and there’s a rain spider half way up the wall. Even though it’s a big one, I’m cool – rain spiders are harmless.  I open the door to the garage and there are hundreds of spiders on the walls, on the floor, on my car. This is the point at which I become a lot less cool and run shrieking back into the house!

I hope that all of you had a peaceful and happy Christmas.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

13 Comments on “What happens if you obsess about something just before Christmas?”

  1. December 25, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Looks like you got some great guide books, Lisa. I got some insect guides, too… hopefully, I won’t have similar dreams tonight! Hope you are having a great Christmas.

  2. December 26, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    How funny, Lisa! Your books sound fascinating, though. I’d love to know more about how spiders perceive their world, if you were at all inclined to do more spider posts–and something tells me you may just find yourself so inclined. I got gobs of blogging books.
    Hope you had a lovely holiday!

    • December 26, 2010 at 7:10 am #

      I’m afraid that how spiders perceive their world is not as fascinating as it initially sounds.

      You know me, if I come across anything fascinating you ARE going to hear about it! 😉

  3. December 26, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Your dream reminds me of something that actually did happen to my mom.

    When I was a little kid, we used to bring freshly cut wood into the house to burn in our wood stove. We surmise an egg sack hitchhiked in on one of the logs, and when it heated up in our warm basement, my mom walked downstairs to a wall full of little spiders. Some of them dropped in her hair and she went running and screaming to the shower to wash them out. Maybe this is where my phobia started??

    Anyway…it looks like you got some good reading material for your new hobby. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas aside from the dream! 🙂

    • December 26, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks for sharing that story. I think. In one of the spider books there is a photograph of dozens (hundreds?) of “spiderlings” (that’s what they’re called!). That must have been what “inspired” my dream.

      My new hobby? Not sure if I’ll call it that yet! When I told Willie that I wasn’t going to officially join The Spider Club because I wasn’t as obsessed or eccentric, his reply was something like “Oh, I think you’d fit right in’!

  4. December 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    LOL. Now I can’t wait to see what you’ll obsess about next year Christmas-time 🙂

    Sounds like an icky dream, though. Hope it didn’t bother you again last night!

    • December 27, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

      Will have to be careful about what I obsess about! 😉

      Nope, no more spider dreams.

  5. December 28, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    I was obsessing over sunshine and warmth, but unfortunately I didn’t even get a book about those, let alone the real thing! I must admit to being a cautious spider fan though – I still get the ‘ick’ reflex but we have enough of them in Australia that I’ve overcome most of it now. Now for more macros!

  6. April 2, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I keep a broom with me at night in my parents’ house because of a spider that lives indoors with us, the size of my palm _ heteropoda venatoria _ brown huntsman spider. They are supposed to eat cockroaches and for that I am grateful, but still wouldn’t want one creeping up my sleeping feet…..The Argiope spiders, on the other hand, are so beautiful and they like to stay outdoors.

    • April 3, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      Like you, I’m prepared to cohabit with spiders as long as they aren’t poisonous and respect my personal space. The Argiope spiders construct such beautiful webs.

Leave a Reply

