The bane of Lucy’s life

I haven’t had the energy to write much this week. So today is another photo day.

The little bird below (a Fiscal or Common Shrike) is the bane of our cat’s life. It lives in a tree in our front garden, and often Lucy just needs to set a paw outside in the front, and it starts to shriek at her. Then it proceeds to follow her as she does her rounds of our property, continuing to make a racket and warning any living creature that there’s a kitty on the prowl. Maybe this is why she no longer does much hunting?!

I’ve seen this kind of thing before in the wilds. On a visit to a game reserve in the Eastern Cape, we watched an adult male lion padding slowly down a dirt road. At each tree he passed, the birds would start to squawk and screech, until he had passed by.

A Happy New Year to you! I hope that the year ahead is a good one for you and your family. Thanks for reading my blog!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

15 Comments on “The bane of Lucy’s life”

  1. December 31, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Gosh, the photos are fabulous, Lisa! Hope you’re feeling better!

    By the way, have you had any trouble getting updates about posts from either my blog or any others that you follow? Two of my regular readers have commented that they are no longer getting my updates, and one person says she is not getting updates from a number of the blogs she reads regularly. Any thoughts?

    • December 31, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      Thanks, Kathy!

      I am still getting email notifications as usual. You say that both people were getting updates previously, but that they’ve stopped? It sounds like a WordPress problem. However, if they subscribed to your blog via the Subscribe option at the top of the screen, they can try and check their subscription settings (My Account -> Manage my Subscriptions) and just make sure that the email notification is set correctly. I saw the other day that two of the blogs I subscribe to had suddenly changed from “Instantly” to “Weekly” without my doing anything. Hope that helps.

  2. December 31, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Very nice photos! Did you zoom and take it on macro setting?

    • December 31, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

      Thanks! It’s just zoomed in. The macro setting on the camera I’m using (http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_PowerShot_SX10_IS/) is just for really close-up stuff (like spiders! 😉 ). This is the camera we used for the Kalahari photos. When it’s zoomed in to the max like in these shots, it’s difficult to keep the object in focus if you’re not using a tripod. So those were the only two good shots out of about 10.

      That’s probably WAY more information than you wanted! 🙂

      • December 31, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

        No-no! Keep on sharing please? 🙂

  3. December 31, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Beautiful photos, Lisa. Happy New Year to you too, and thank you for reading my blog too! I’m glad to have met you, in this cyber world we share.
    Sunshine xx

    • January 1, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      Very glad we met too! 🙂 I hope that you’ll continue blogging during 2011, even if you are busy with other things.

  4. January 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    These are just beautiful photos – I’m really looking forward to seeing what birds you’ll photograph in 2011!

  5. January 2, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    That is hysterical, Lisa! Your poor Lucy! I always enjoy your sense of humor and perspective on life. Nice job on the photos as well!

  6. January 4, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    We used to have many of these birds around our home as a child. We called them “jack hangers” or “butcher birds”. They used to hang all their meat (worms and bugs) on thorn trees and aloes to dry out like biltong before eating them 🙂

    • January 4, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      That’s interesting! I had heard the “butcher bird” name before, just never knew why.

Leave a Reply

