Last sunset of 2010

We had a very quiet New Year’s celebration at home. Just a braai (South African word for a barbecue) out on our deck. Just us and the dog, and the cat, and the frogs, and the moths . . . and the mosquitoes. And probably a spider or two . .

Although we don’t have a panoramic view from our deck (can just see the garden, and the roofs of our neighbours’ houses), I love the silhouette that the plants create against the sky. New Year’s Eve had a particularly beautiful sunset which bathed the whole neighbourhood in this pink/orange light, with clouds that looked like candyfloss. (Interesting fact: The Afrikaans word for candyfloss is “spookasem” = ghost’s breath).

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Last sunset of 2010”

  1. January 1, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Why are African sunsets so much more beautiful than sunsets anywhere else in the world?

    Happy New Year.

    • January 1, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      They are amazing aren’t they? Must be all the dust in the air! 🙂

      Best wishes for 2011!

  2. January 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Ah, I miss those beautiful sunsets, and those kind of skies. Sounds like the perfect way to spend New Year’s Eve in such a stunning part of the world.
    Much health and happiness to you in 2011.
    Sunshine xx

    • January 1, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      Thanks, and best wishes for 2011! With your new job about to start, I’m sure you’re going to have an interesting year.

  3. January 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your New Year’s Eve with us! One of these day’s I will have to see an African sunset for myself! South Africa is one of Sara’s favorite places on the planet–but, alas, I’ve never been there!

    • January 1, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      Sara has been here?! Was it for work or pleasure?

      I hope you had a lovely New Year’s Eve too.

  4. January 2, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    That sounds like the perfect way to end 2010. I wish you all the best in 2011!

  5. January 13, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Beautiful sunsets. For my blog, I have specifically focused on sky imagery, so I was drawn to your photography immediately. Gorgeous work!

    • January 13, 2011 at 6:27 am #

      I am also into sky imagery – as you might have guessed! 🙂 Briefly checked out your photo gallery – absolutely gorgeous! – and will go back later for a longer look.

Leave a Reply

