Loo with a view

Like everybody, I also got a summary of my 2010 blog stats courtesy of WordPress. Turns out my best day was when I posted a piece titled “Finding a vacant toilet in the bush“. Not only did all my “regulars” (no pun intended) read it, but I had a lot of new visitors to my site. Amazing what attracts people’s attention!

When I told Willie about this, he sent me this photograph, and suggested I put it on my blog (Is he trying to help improve my blog stats?!). The toilet in question is at a fire lookout, up in the Southern Cape mountains. Apparently, it did have a little “house” around it, but that blew away in a storm!

"Loo with a view" at Ruitersbos Forestry Station, Southern Cape, South Africa. (Image source: P van Zyl)

Since we’re on the subject of toilets (again) . . . A South African singer called Nataniël (who has a very dry sense of humour, and is worth listening to speak, even if you’re not a fan of his music), climbed up Mount Kilimanjaro a couple of years ago. When he was interviewed about the trip, he said the worst thing about the whole climb was the pit toilets they had to use. In Afrikaans he said: “Dis soos die dood, met ‘n huisie om!”, which translates into “It’s like death, with a little house built around it!”. This remains one of Willie’s favourite quotes!

[If you REALLY want to know more about pit toilets, there’s a travel guide on how to use them here !]

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Loo with a view”

  1. January 4, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    The photo is great–the name of this post hysterical! I love your wit, Lisa!

  2. GlobalFurryConspiracy
    January 4, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Glad to see — after the very gratifying Arachnid series — that you are continuing to focus on issues of great interest to all living species (not just “cute” mammals). I mean, everyone excretes, right? No need to be a fancy pants and not talk about it.
    Still on this topic, a lot of people who like forest honey may be interested to learn that the bees make it out of aphid excretions, there not being that many blossoms in a pine or fir forest. The aphids feed off the tree juices and convert it into a sweet liquid which the forest bees then collect and transform into that very dark and, dare I say, flavourful coating for your toast.
    Good stuff – puts hairs on your chest …

    • January 4, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      Yes, I thought you might like this one! 😉 Glad something has finally brought you out of hiding.

      Thanks for the info about honey. I think. Not sure I’m ever going to feel the same way about honey again!

      • February 5, 2013 at 2:17 am #

        Same here! First time I heard of this. Like you, wont feel the same way about honey again. Har har!

      • February 5, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

        GlobalFurryConspiracy (when he does comment) likes to tell these gross stories! 🙂

  3. January 4, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Wow… I’ve used some strange and dodgy toilets in my time but that one is seriously unique! I guess if the wind’s blowing one direction, it’s not so good, but any other and it’d be fresh as you like!

    • January 5, 2011 at 7:42 am #

      I think it would be pretty fresh whatever way the wind blows. Gets quite windy up there!

  4. January 5, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    It is interesting what attracts people’s attention. I like the view, but not so sure I’d be comfortable with that loo. 🙂

    • January 5, 2011 at 6:38 am #

      Yesterday surpassed my last “toilet post” in number of views!

      I think the toilet shack may have been rebuilt by now – if only to shield the lookout guy from the elements. The location is very remote.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Loo with a view « Eremophila’s Musings - January 5, 2011

    […] with a view I was amused to read Lisa’s post about a Loo with a view, and it reminded me of a shot I took last summer.  My cyber friend from Geneva was visiting […]

Leave a Reply

