My 15 minutes of WordPress fame

On Friday 7 January my post (“The tale of the Delicious Monsters and the unfurling fronds“) was chosen for Freshly Pressed. Wow. Never thought it would happen to me, and I was shocked, overwhelmed and extremely thrilled!

Thank you to WordPress for selecting my post. I don’t know what criteria you used to choose it, but it has given my blog the exposure it sorely needed.

Thanks to all those who visited, “liked” and commented on my post. It was so exciting watching people visit from all over the world. I appreciate the time you spent doing this, and loved reading your comments. I also appreciated the help I got with identifying the Mystery plant. Most of you said it was “some kind of Rhubarb plant”. You were right! It was an ornamental rhubarb (Gunnera species) from South America. Thanks again to Anders Kjellsson for the positive identification.

For those of you who subscribed to my blog, thanks for joining me. I hope that you continue to find in my blog what you liked in that first post you read.

And last, but not least, a big thank you to my “old” regular readers who followed my blog faithfully and encouraged me to keep writing.

Now that my “15 minutes of WordPress fame” is over, I’ll have to get back to my regular posting because as everybody in Blogland know, you’re only as good as your last post!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

17 Comments on “My 15 minutes of WordPress fame”

  1. January 10, 2011 at 7:11 am #

    I see that your blog is still advertised on the home page. So, your 15 minutes don’t appear to be up quite yet… 🙂 You deserve every minute of it!

  2. January 10, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Congratulations – I just popped back to your blog to tell you that your plant was from the rhubabrb species to fine you have all the info – well done on being freshly pressed!

    • January 10, 2011 at 8:43 am #

      Thank you! 🙂 Thanks for the trouble you went to finding out about the mystery plant. Sorry, I should have sent you an email.

  3. January 10, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    fine = find 🙂

  4. Sarita Botha
    January 10, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Congrats again!

  5. January 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Wow, Freshly Pressed!! Well done:)

  6. January 10, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Congrats!! and enjoy it!!
    I like your last paragraph “in Blogland , you’re only as good as your last post”
    Have a good week!!

    • January 10, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂 Sad that “blog fame” is so short-lived, but what can you do?

      Have a good week & thanks for visiting my blog!

  7. January 11, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    I’m so pleased that you were Freshly Pressed–you have certainly deserved it–at least, I wouldn’t miss one of your posts if I could possibly help it. I’ve been singing your blog’s praises to Sara for a long time. Thank God someone at WordPress finally noticed!

    • January 11, 2011 at 4:35 am #

      Thanks Kathy! 🙂 I appreciate all the kind and encouraging comments you have left on my blog since you found me. It really means a lot to me coming from a writer like you. I have to say that at times I felt a little intimidated knowing that you have taught writing at college level! 😉

  8. January 11, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Sorry about the time it has taken to come around. The computer I have at work did not recoginze half of the people that subscribed to my blog and as a result, I missed out on seeing yours. But better late than never.

    Congratulations on the freshly pressed.

    I have enjoyed the posts I have been able to read so far and look forward to getting them on a regular basis.

  9. January 17, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    Well done on being picked for Freshly Pressed, Lisa. It is a fantastic and very affirming feeling, isn’t it?

    I see that you have subscribed to my blog, so I thought I’d check out yours – and I have now subscribed too! I look forward to learning more about your life in the Southern Cape, which is one of the most beautiful areas of our fair country. 🙂

    • January 17, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      Thank you! It was a fun experience, and I’ve “met” some really nice people from all over the world. I’ve been very happy to have the Africans/South Africans introduce themselves. There are some wonderful African bloggers out there!

Leave a Reply

