My name is 麗莎 (if Google Translate has it right!)

Willie has over the years done some consulting work, for forestry companies outside of South Africa. Several times he was lucky enough to go to the Far East, specifically Thailand. His exposure to the Thai culture and food, has left a lasting impression on both him, and our home.

Every time he returned back home to South Africa, he would have a longish stop-over in either Singapore or Hong Kong. The shopping in both obviously being a huge attraction to somebody who likes electronic gadgets! Even though he came back from his trips with great electronic “toys” for us, it’s really the little things that I treasure most.

One of these was a little chop (or stamp) he had made in Hong Kong with my name in Chinese. It came in these beautiful little boxes. One with the red ink, the other containing the actual chop. The chop is carved out of a greenish stone (not Jade, however!).

The red ink that one uses with the chop, comes inside a little porcelain container.

The actual chop. The “top” end has a tiny carving of a tiger, the bottom end my name in Traditional Chinese.

This is what my name (“Lisa”) looks like in Traditional Chinese. At least that is what I hope it says! Although fellow blogger Herschelian (from Jasmine Tea & Jiaozi), who is currently living in Beijing China, has verified this for me.

麗莎

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

18 Comments on “My name is 麗莎 (if Google Translate has it right!)”

  1. January 16, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    I LOVE that! I’ve been looking to have the same done! I know my family would love it…Isn’t it about the coolest thing ever?

    • January 16, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Yes, it’s a very unique kind of gift to give somebody. So they have the same kind of thing in Japan?

  2. bagnidilucca
    January 16, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Much more exotic than Lisa.

    • January 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      I know! I just will have to start practising my Chinese calligraphy! At this stage who knows what I’d end up writing! 🙂

  3. January 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    that is gorgeous!!!

  4. January 16, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    First, I will concur that Singapore is, perhaps, the best place on the planet for, electronics. Second, I must admit that I adore Thailand. Third, when we were living in Hanoi, we too had stamps made–though ours were not as lovely as this and were carved from wood. And finally, I have a box on my desk back in the US almost identical to the one pictured above. Sara gave it to me, but it did not contain a stamp or ink, that I know of. Don’t know where she got it or what was in it originally. It was just around our house, Sara came upon it in one or her organizing marathons and passed it along to me, knowing how much I love containers.

    Very fun post, Lisa!

    • January 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      I also love pretty boxes and containers! Will be sharing more of my “little treasures” in future posts.

      • January 17, 2011 at 12:34 am #

        Sometimes I’ve wanted to take a girlfriend around my house and do a show and tell about my own “little treasures.” Will look forward to seeing more of yours.

      • January 17, 2011 at 5:47 am #

        Besides being beautiful little things, I find they have so many memories attached to them.

  5. January 16, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    What a lovely and thoughtful gift. Have you ever been able to go with Willie on one of these trips? I imagine, even from where you are it must take quite some time to fly there.

    • January 17, 2011 at 5:37 am #

      I haven’t been to the Far East, but did go on a trip to New Zealand with Willie. Which was wonderful – we got to travel around both islands.

  6. January 17, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Very sweet. Sometimes the best presents are the smallest ones.

  7. January 17, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Such a beautiful and thoughtful gift, Lisa. And your name looks so beautiful in Chinese. Do you know how to say it in Chinese?
    Sunshine xx

    • January 17, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      According to Google Translate (fast becoming one of my favourite sites!) it is pronounced: Lì shā . If you want to listen to it: go to http://translate.google.com, copy & paste the two characters from the title, translate it, and press the listen button.

  8. January 18, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Let’s try again…

    It’s beautiful! What a lovely thing to own 🙂

Leave a Reply

