Two walks in the snow

I love snow. Although I was born in South Africa, my family comes from (and still lives in) Northern Europe. I am convinced that I’m genetically programmed to like the cold. I love walking in snow. I also love photographs and descriptions of snow. I love snow!

I have just read two wonderful posts about walks in the snow by Julie McKay.

The first is #34 Dragon Snouts and Other Mythical Creatures (click on link), and the second is #35 A (Cold) Sunday Stroll (click on link). Both of these have beautiful descriptions and photographs of snow and ice formations.

While you’re there, take a look at Julie’s blog. She writes about her life “off the grid” on a small, remote island off the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Two walks in the snow”

  1. January 17, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    I too love snow, adore it, in fact! And thanks for mentioning Julie’s blog. I look forward to checking it out!

    By the way, crazy things are happening in Haiti. Check out my blog for details. And there will be another update in a couple of hours. (Don’t even ask about sleep, my fellow insomniac.)

  2. bagnidilucca
    January 17, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    I love the pictures of snow on your friend’s blog. I live in hot (very hot today) Brisbane. I am Queensland born and bred, but I loathe the heat. This is one of the reasons we bought the place in Italy. I much prefer to be cold. Unlike most people, i follow the winter. I will be leaving for lovely cold Italy next week and will come back to perfect winter weather in Brisbane at the end of May – pefect.

    • January 17, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      We’ve been having some very hot weather here in the last week too. Following the winter . . . what an excellent idea!

  3. January 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Thanks for the nice plug Lisa!

    • January 17, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      Pleasure! I hope you get some visits out of it, and that they enjoy your posts as much as I did.

  4. January 17, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I love the snow too – but it seems to have disappeared from London for now, and I’m not sure it’ll be back! Ahhh.
    I’ll check out the blog you’ve linked to.
    Sunshine xx

    • January 17, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      That’s sad – and it looked so promising when it snowed before Christmas.

  5. January 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I can appreciate this having grown up in SNOW. I’ve always found it beautiful and enchanting. Thanks for sharing the blog!

    By the way, having spent so much time in this cold, rainy Pacific Northwest winter, I can’t wait for summer to return! Being almost 100% Norwegian, I turn cadaverously pale this time of year. I need some vitamin D!

    • January 18, 2011 at 6:57 am #

      I thought your surname sounded Scandinavian. Is there less sunshine in the Pacific Northwest than where you lived previously? If Internet photos are anything to go by (!), the skies actually sometimes clear in areas with more snow than rain.

      • January 18, 2011 at 9:30 am #

        There is a lot less sunshine where I live now compared to where I grew up in Minnesota. It’s just the season. Summers in the Pacific Northwest are mild and gorgeous. We suffer for it in the winter, though. 😦

      • January 18, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

        But it is really green and pretty where you live! Have you taken photos of the islands and from the ferries?

  6. January 26, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I think I’m the only one not thrilled about cold. I cannot wait for the warmer months. But I do love looking at Julie’s pictures.

    • January 26, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      How cold does it get where you live? Julie’s photos are great, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

