Platform timeshare

We have a children’s jungle gym (mainly constructed from wood and wooden poles) in our garden, that has been featured in several of my photos of birds. It is close to our kitchen door, and if birds land on it, I can usually get a good clear shot. It has also always been Lucy’s (the cat) place to relax and catch some sun. I think she also enjoys the view from up there.

During the past two weeks I’ve noticed that the cat and the birds take turns in using the one platform. In the mornings, a flock of doves settles down there.

And in the afternoons Lucy goes up to relax and catch some afternoon sun. That brownish colour on her “white bits” is dirt. Lucy likes rolling around in the dirt, and isn’t much bothered by it afterwards! If you’re worried about the birds safety, don’t be. Lucy is a great “mouser”, but she’s got very little talent in the bird catching department. I have previously written about her selective hunting skills in a post titled Catch and Release (click on the link, if you want to read more about it).

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

15 Comments on “Platform timeshare”

  1. January 20, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    OMG, Lucy is adorable! I love that little pink mouth!

    • January 20, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      Lucy goes very “pink” when she lies in the sun. Her ears almost glow!

  2. bagnidilucca
    January 20, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Cat’s ears can be susceptible to skin cancer, perhaps Lucy needs a hat.

  3. January 20, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I love that they hot-seat on the jungle gym! Lucy is adorable, and she looks so content in the sun. What a life.
    Sunshine xx

  4. January 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Lucy is darling! About the sun and need for a hat–my Lucy had a conical hat in Vietnam we’d be willing to loan your little one. I know there’s a photo of one somewhere on my blog. You’ve probably seen it. The next time Willy goes to Asia have him bring one back, at the very least. I’m sure she’d look stunning sunning in it! LOL

    • January 21, 2011 at 7:48 am #

      Yes, I saw your Lucy with her little conical hat. Very cute! I don’t think it would stay on my Lucy’s head very long though. She can removed a cat collar in about 30 seconds!

  5. January 20, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I love that the birds and your Lucy have learned how to share. She looks content as can be sunning herself. Great photos, Lisa!

    • January 21, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      Thanks! I’m not sure whether the birds and Lucy have actually learned to share.

  6. January 21, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    I love all your bird photos – the pics of Hadedas a few posts back had me turn all nostalgic – for me they are SO evocative of southern Africa – I can hear the call they make in my mind.
    Lucy looks very content with life. If re-incarnation were true, coming back as your cat would be a pretty cushy number!

    • January 21, 2011 at 7:52 am #

      Do you come back to South Africa for visits?

      You are right about that – being a pet in this house is a very good “assignment”! 🙂

      • January 23, 2011 at 3:32 am #

        I do come back as regularly as possible. I didn’t leave SA until in my early 20s, so I have many school and varsity friends who are there, plus godchildren etc. Any excuse to return – 40th Matric reunion (!!), weddings, 60th birthdays or just when in need of some R&R. My other half – a Scot – has learnt to love the country as much as I do.

  7. April 6, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    Stunning Specimen of Feline Beauty 🙂 WOW

Leave a Reply

