Go Take a Hike: Your questions please!

A number of people have shown an interest in having Willie do a guest post on my blog re: his experience of the Otter Hiking Trail. The buildup to which I’ve been describing here and here.

Since the type of writing he usually does is of a technical nature (i.e. less entertaining to ordinary folks), I think it would be helpful if he had some guidelines on what to write about.  So I’d like suggestions from you, the reader, about the kind of things you would like to hear about.

You can either leave comments below or email me here.

Thank you in advance for your input!

Tags: ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Go Take a Hike: Your questions please!”

  1. January 27, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    ok – I have a few:
    1. What was your average time per km – walking?
    2. Did you have access to enough fresh drinking water?
    3. I would love to hear more about your river crossings – I have heard some scary tales before.
    4. Scariest thing that happened?
    5. Funniest thing that happened?

    • January 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks for your questions. With the responses I have had so far, it looks like Willie will be able to do several guest posts! 🙂

  2. Sarita Botha
    January 27, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I want to see lots of photo’s. Have some memories of when we did it, but it was so long ago.

    • January 27, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      You guys have done it?! You could have given Willie some input on how fit he needed to get. He was training like a crazy person beforehand!

      Willie didn’t take our camera with him because it’s too big and heavy. I’m sure that at least one of the others will have taken a smaller camera along.

      • Sarita Botha
        January 27, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

        We did it when I was pregnant with Jacques. Didn’t know I was pregnant at that point otherwise I possibly wouldn’t have done it. We withdraw on the 3rd day seeing that I hurt my ankle.

      • January 27, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

        So Jacques has been hiking from an early age then?! 🙂

  3. January 27, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Sounds like you already got a few good suggestions. Can’t wait to read his guest post! Too bad he didn’t bring his camera – but I can understand. They do add some weight, and we was already so well packed anyway.

    • January 27, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      Think what one also needs on the kind of hike, is a camera with a waterproof casing. Often rains there, and one has to cross some rivers.

      I’ll be adding your earlier suggestions to the list.

  4. January 28, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    I’d like to hear his packing tips! I am so, so bad at it and it sounds like Willy has it down to a science–literally!
    I’d also love you to write about him more, Lisa. He sounds like such an interesting character. I love seeing him through your eyes.

    • January 28, 2011 at 6:58 am #

      I’ve watched Willie pack and I’m still bad at it! 🙂

      I’m going to do a series in May about Willie’s Mozambique kayak fishing trip, and I plan to follow him around with a camera to record how he prepares for it. Normally one room in our house is used to accumulate all the equipment, food etc.

      Willie’s kind of private, so he’s not overly thrilled when I write about him. But I did let him read the first Take A Hike post, and he said it was okay for me to publish it. Just mumbled something about me making him sound like a control freak! 🙂

      He managed to call yesterday. Everything is going well and everyone is having fun. He said he was perched on a rock at the sea, waiting for the others to catch up. That kind of says it ALL, doesn’t it?! Anyway, I told him about his “fans” on my blog, and how I’m gathering questions. He thinks I’m joking!

  5. January 28, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    I also can’t wait to read his guest post, so I hope you can persuade him. Everyone else asked such brilliant questions already, so all I can think of adding is that I’d like to know what animal encounters he had – along such a wild stretch of coastline, there’s bound to be some! And did they sleep in huts along the route, or did they have to take tents?

Leave a Reply

