Why I “like” you

Riekie from Clouded Marbles wrote a post the other day titled “To like, or not to like“. It’s a topic that I’d been thinking about too, but just not in as much detail as she obviously has! 😉 If you haven’t seen her post yet, go and take a look.

So why do I “like” somebody’s post? Mostly, I “like” a post when I really do like it – none of those “ulterior motives” which Riekie lists apply. I do it to show the person that wrote it that they entertained, amused, moved or educated me. Whether I comment or not depends on whether my head hurts. If my head hurts, I don’t usually have the mental capacity or the manual dexterity to compose and type a comment. If my head hurts, I may be way behind on my blog reading, and everybody else has already said everything that I thought of, or which is clever and witty. Writing a “me too” response seems a little lame. In either case, I still want to let the author know that I read and enjoyed their post.

Which brings me to the point of this post. With it now being mid-summer here in the Southern Hemisphere and temperatures soaring, I’m having a lot of bad migraines. It’s starting to get really difficult for me to keep up with my current (self-imposed) posting schedule. So I’ve decided to cut back a little. To 2 or 3 posts a week, until things improve again. Another reason for me wanting to cut back is that I can’t keep up my regular posting and still read all my favourite blogs. What I get out of reading other people’s blogs is as important to me, as just posting my own stuff.

One of my other strategies is to rope in some guest posters (i.e. family members!). You seem to have enjoyed Willie’s guest posts, and I’m trying to persuade him to write more. He’s a busy man though, so I don’t want to pressure him too much. There is another family member who may be guest posting for me in the near future. You know who you are! Again, no pressure, just want you to know your posts would be very welcome.

So what I’d like those of you whose blogs I follow to know, is that even if I don’t always comment, I do read and enjoy your blogs regularly. And if I press the “like” button on a post it means I really, really like it! 🙂

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

21 Comments on “Why I “like” you”

  1. February 6, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    I like this post, Lisa! 🙂 Sorry you’re struggling with migraines, and I hope they are not too painful and depleting for you, and that they pass quickly. It’s good that you know what you can manage, so fewer posts a week sounds like a good plan for you, together with the guest bloggers.
    Thank you for being a faithful reader of my blog – it means a lot to me!
    Take care, and look after yourself.
    Sunshine xx

    • February 7, 2011 at 7:04 am #

      Thank you for your comments! Reading your blog brightens up my day, so it’s you who is doing me the “favour”.

  2. Oregon Sunshine
    February 6, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Hope you start feeling better soon!

  3. February 6, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    I feel the same way about the like button. Although I must give a shout-out to Clouded Marbles — I didn’t even know until I read her post that I could go back and look at all the posts that I’ve “liked.” Very handy.

    Oh, and speaking of not knowing WordPress things, I also just realized that I wasn’t clicking the “Notify me of follow-up comments” button when I commented on people’s posts, and hence I never saw when they responded to my comments! So if you’ve ever responded to one of my comments and I didn’t respond back, please know it wasn’t intentional 🙂

    I’m sorry about your migraines too, and I think a posting schedule of 2-3 per week is more than enough! I also have trouble keeping up with blog reading AND writing — it’s like a full-time job.

    • February 7, 2011 at 7:11 am #

      It never occurred to me either to use the “like” button as a way to bookmark posts I liked!

      The problem with the “Notify me of follow-up comments” button is that if you comment early on, you can get flooded with emails. But I usually use it anyway, because I’ll never remember whose posts I commented on otherwise.

      I found that a couple of months ago, I could write a post fairly quickly and so posting and reading didn’t take that long. But in the last month or so, it’s taking me ages just to finish a post.

  4. February 6, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Thanks for the mention, Lisa!

    The sun worshipers out there might not thank me for saying this, but I do hope there are more cooler days ahead. And you know I’ll be waiting to read whenever you, or your guest bloggers, feel like posting! Stay cool (literally).

    • February 6, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      shucks! I probably meant “keep cool” 😉

      • February 7, 2011 at 7:14 am #

        The mention: Well, I REALLY did enjoy your post. And I got a post out of it too! 😉

        Thanks for your wishes for cooler weather.

  5. February 7, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about your headaches – very debilitating. I look forward to your posts, but understand that you are not always up to it.

  6. February 7, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    I also use the Like button mostly as a bookmark. If I really like the post (like this one) I leave a comment. Sorry about the headaches, no worries if it takes some of your time away from blogging. I like to blog regularly, but sometimes like takes precedence.

    • February 7, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      Thanks Mike! My readers are probably quite happy to get a bit of a break too! 🙂

  7. February 7, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    I sometimes feel the same way – I’ve read everyone else’s comments and feel the same way…so “liking” seems more appropriate than duplicating a comment. Plus, it’s more interesting to the blogger, I’d think, to get a new thought.

    Hope you feel better soon, Lisa. It can’t be easy suffering through the migranes in the heat. 😦

    • February 8, 2011 at 6:31 am #

      Thanks! It’s cool and raining here this morning, so I’ll have a better day. 🙂

  8. February 7, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon- ! The weather here has lots to do with my feelings – Winter is almost over !!! 🙂 I like warm weather, sunshine, and the beach. I too, write about the things that interest me, amuse or inspire me. You can find me on my blog. I did enjoy reading your articles

    Best Wishes

    • February 8, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comments! I love your blog title – and I also love “happy blogs”, so I’ll definitely visit yours.

  9. LanaRenee
    February 13, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    Ha! Thanks for liking my post! I hoping to get over to S. Africa soon.. I’d love to shoot a wedding over there.. any engaged friends? haha. Saludos!

    • February 13, 2011 at 7:18 am #

      Thank you for visiting my blog! Unfortunately, all my friends are married or happily single! 🙂 Absolutely loved your dog photographs.

  10. GeoRoMancer
    February 16, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Hmmm … “There is another family member who may be guest posting for me” … so are you gonna get your mom to post? I’m sure she will be glad to share!

    Talking about “likes”: I wonder whether WordPress automatically discounts “likes” from family?

    • February 16, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      I was actually thinking of my brother . . . ! 🙂

      ALL “likes” count – even if you “like” yourself! Which you actually need to do, to re-blog the post on a different blog you own or contribute towards.

Leave a Reply

