Podcast: Alan Rabinowitz – Man & Beast

Alan Rabinowitz in TIME magazine

After recommending a science-related podcast yesterday, I decided to recommend something that would be for everyone. The Moth is a storytelling podcast which I’ve been listening to for years now. Some readers in the United States might have already come across their radio hours, or even been to their live events. The organization holds storytelling evenings, where anybody (you don’t have to be an actor or a comedian) can get up and tell a short story (usually 15 – 20 minutes). It has to be a true story, told live and without using notes.

Over the years I have heard some amazing, funny and/or inspirational stories told by people from all walks of life. Obviously, it’s the best ones that make it onto the podcast. Last night I listened to one titled Alan Rabinowitz: Man & Beast in which Alan Rabinowitz tells the story of how a promise he made in a zoo in New York as a child, led to him his life’s work as a zoologist and conservation biologist. It’s an inspiring story. According to Wikipedia: “Today, Rabinowitz’s work focuses on conserving the world’s largest, most imperiled cats—tigers, lions, jaguars, and snow leopards—and their habitats.” If you want to read more about Alan Rabinowitz, TIME magazine published an article about him titled The Indiana Jones of Wildlife Protection.

The best way to download The Moth podcasts is by subscribing to the feed using iTunes. Go here for instructions. If you don’t have iTunes then go to the RSS feed here, to select a different podcatcher, or you can listen to them via your browser there. Just scroll down to the “Current Feed Content” section on the page.

Alan Rabinowitz’s story is the most recent (i.e. top) one.  Other stories currently available on the feed which I’d recommend are:

  • Mack McClendon: What Can You Do? – A Lousianna native realizes he can never return to his pre-Katrina life.
  • Darryl “DMC” McDaniels: Angel – An angel brings a hip hop superstar back from the brink.

I’ve become completely hooked on The Moth stories – they are a return to the wonderful tradition of storytelling.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Film/Television/Radio, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Podcast: Alan Rabinowitz – Man & Beast”

  1. February 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Thanks for this recommendation, Lisa! Hope your day is going well, my friend!

    • February 24, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

      I really think you would enjoy the storytelling aspect. Some of the people who tell their stories are writers, talking about experiences in their own lives. Reminds me of some of the anecdotes that you write about on your blog.

  2. February 24, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    It sounds like an amazing series, Lisa – I can understand how you got hooked on it! I wonder if Alan is related to Nik Rabinowitz, SA comedian?!
    Sunshine xx

    • February 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

      It is an interesting series. I listen to these (and other podcasts) as “bedtime stories”. Rabinowitz is quite a common name in South Africa, isn’t it?

  3. Estie
    February 25, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Thanks. It is a good idea.

  4. February 26, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    My neighbor Andy always listens to podcasts and tells me about them, and I know they’ve been around awhile, but I’ve never tried listening to any. Your blog has inspired me. This sounds interesting enough to give it a try! Hope you are doing well…how close are you to being out of the intense summer heat?

    • February 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      LOL Willie says he knows how you must feel . . . he always has to listen to my stories about the podcasts I listen to! Although I now do have him listening to The Moth and some other podcasts as well.

      I generally listen when I can’t sleep, or when I’ve got a bad headache and find it difficult to read or watch television. And of course, when I’m doing some really boring like housework!

      It’s still quite hot here. Probably won’t cool down until the beginning of April . . .

Leave a Reply

