Mystique theme: 3 interpretations

While I read and answered comments to the My quest for the ultimate WordPress theme post , I visited each person’s blog to see what theme they were using, and how they had implemented it. I saw a lot of excellent looking sites. So I have made a decision to feature any nice looking sites I come across to illustrate to bloggers what is possible with particular themes. I will only feature themes that are available on WordPress.com.

The first theme I’m showcasing is Mystique. This is one of those themes I never considered for myself, because is it quite bold (and can be colourful), and I think you need a particular kind of personality and blog to carry it off. But there are bloggers who really know what to do with it, and it’s working for their content.

Click on images to enlarge them.

1. Inspired Beeing

This is bright and bold, with a great header which is part of the background. Something which looks very good with this theme.

Screenshot from Inspired Beeinghttp://inspiredbeeing.com/

2. The Files of a Logophile

A darker interpretation with a bold header image, and a change of fonts.

Screenshot from The Files of a Logophile – http://thelogofiles.wordpress.com/

3. {grow} blog

Here we have a self-hosted site using the Mystique theme with some CSS refinements. The gray tones and layout give it a more business-type look. Note here that the header again forms part of the background. The Mystique theme options do have a gray version, so a similar look could be achieved on WordPress.com.

Screenshot from {grow} blog – http://www.businessesgrow.com/blog/

If you want to know about the features and functionality of this theme, you can read about it on the WordPress Themes Showcase: Mystique page.

If you have a theme layout which you think looks good, or you would like me to feature a particular theme, leave a comment or send me an email.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

17 Comments on “Mystique theme: 3 interpretations”

  1. July 30, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I love this – Lisa’s take on WordPress Themes! I just *know* I’m going to learn a lot from this new series, and maybe pick up some ideas on how to improve my own blog. Thank you, Lisa!

    • July 31, 2011 at 3:35 am #

      Thanks Reggie – I’ve actually got some ideas specifically for you! 🙂

      • August 2, 2011 at 11:11 am #

        Really??? Oh! I will email you! 😀

  2. July 30, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Fascinating, Lisa–what a great idea! But then again you always have really, really amazing ideas. You are such a creative thinker, my friend!
    Hope you and Willy have a wonderful weekend!
    Kathy

    • July 31, 2011 at 3:36 am #

      Thanks Kathy! I’m no good at arts and crafts, so this is my way of being creative.

  3. jacquelincangro
    July 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    I had been using Mystique (which I liked) but recently changed to Coraline. I like the drop down menus that I can add under different pages on my header. I don’t think that functionality with Mystique (at least not on the .com side).

    Maybe you know the answer to this next question or can point me in the right direction. I’d like the drop down menus link back to a specific blog post. Right now I think it has to link to a blog page. If you happen to know the answer to this one, I’d be forever grateful!! 🙂

    BTW – thanks for featuring other blogs by theme. It’s great to share different ideas and see what other people are doing.

    • July 31, 2011 at 3:29 am #

      I think what you were using was Misty Look – which is a nice one, although as you say has limited functionality.

      Yes, you can link and individual post to a menu item. Go to the menu edit section (Dashboard -> Appearance -Menus) and there’s option box which says “Custom Links”. Just type in the post link and a label and add it to the menu. Remember to save the menu!

      I’m glad that other people are enjoying the themes posts – it’s a lot of fun for me! 🙂

      • jacquelincangro
        July 31, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

        LOL! That’s how un-savvy I am. Don’t even remember the proper name of the theme I was using. 🙂

        Thanks for the tip! I knew if anyone had the answer it would be you. I’m going to try it right now. Thanks!

      • August 1, 2011 at 7:22 am #

        Riekie (Clouded Marbles) asked me the other day whether I’ve memorized all the themes! 😉

  4. August 2, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    I am so amazed how professional these blogs look as well as yours. I have no idea how to make mine look so amazing! How did you learn so much about tweaking your site and using the different themes? Perhaps I need to spend more time figuring this out. I have been using the free themes. Is Mystique an upgrade and do you get more functionality with the upgraded themes?

    • August 2, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      The Mystique theme is a free theme, but the second and third examples in this post have had CSS changes made to them i.e. a CSS upgrade. On this blog, I’m using a premium theme with some CSS changes, my Photoblog is the free Twenty Ten theme with some CSS changes. Check out: http://en.support.wordpress.com/custom-design/ . My guess is that the third example I listed, got some professional help (i.e. a web designer) to help set up his site. I am a computer programmer, so while the coding aspect of CSS is not difficult for me, I’m not good at designing sites from scratch. Tend to look at what people with nice looking sites are doing, and then copy them! 😉

      In general, the premium themes have a more refined, professional look with added functionality. But it varies from theme to theme, so you have to be sure before you invest in a premium theme that it does have everything you want. I love the functionality of the Delicious Magazine theme I’m running on this blog, but am busy changing some of the fonts etc.

  5. August 6, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    Thanks for the great post. It’s really neat to see the different ways people have used this one theme. I always tend to think that you have to use the theme “as is” and forget that there are so many ways in which you can make it your own. Very interesting post.

    • August 6, 2011 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks for reading the post and leaving a comment! 🙂 I have decided to start a series where I look at the possibilities of different themes. Is there a particular theme you’re interested in?

  6. Cat
    October 7, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    Hi Lisa! Just stumbled across this… really happy to have made it on to your site. I think this kind of thing is so helpful… I know before I worked on inspiredbeeing I browsed wordpress blogs for days to try to figure out how to use the free themes to achieve my goals. I am looking forward to looking through your findings. Thank you for compiling it all in one place! Best of luck! – c

    • October 7, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      Hi Cat! I’m always interested to see how people use the theme they’ve chosen. You did a great job with Inspired Beeing – love that header!

      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

  7. November 4, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    hi 🙂 after two years of working in wordpress. i found this theme, its very colorful and its feature two sidebar, footer and mystique tab. everything is cool but it has no feature of feature post that is more than one post is not visible here. am expecting this too!! its available in itheme2 but it doesn’t have feature like mystique tab.

    • November 5, 2011 at 4:57 am #

      Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. 🙂 I also thought that iTheme2 looks very like Mystique, although I haven’t had a good look at it yet. It’s a pity that good features are sometimes dropped when a theme is improved on.

Leave a Reply

