Read this . . .

This installment includes: A post by a vet about “dangerous dogs”, a beautiful tribute to a grandmother and the Blyde River Canyon.

Dr Rayya is an Australian veterinary surgeon with a really great blog. It’s not only informative, but she tells stories of her patients and includes beautiful photographs. With such a love and passion for animals, she’s clearly in the right profession.

A recent post of hers which immediately caught my eye was: Dr Rayya’s Online Veterinary Journal: The anti-pitbull breedist legislation. Those of you who have followed my blog for a while will have “met” Rosie, our Staffordshire Bull Terrier (Staffie) AKA The Jet-set Puppy. Although there is currently no “dangerous dog” legislation in South Africa, Staffies like Pitbulls are considered dangerous dogs by many. I feel it’s not a label they deserve.

~~~ . . .~~~

I enjoyed these two posts by Heather from 2Summers recently:

2Summers: Celebrating Cooncie With Hurricane Irene

This is one of the most beautiful tributes I’ve read in a while. You really get a sense of family here, and of the links between the different generations of a family. And we get to see some beautiful photographs taken by Tenney Mason (Heather’s father) .

2Summers: A Garden in Gaither (or Scenes From Sykesville)

I have been following the 2Summers blog for quite a while now. What I particularly enjoy about it, is Heather’s way of describing South Africa and South Africans. She’s made me look at my own country with new eyes. She writes about things from her perspective, but with kindness and tolerance. So it is particularly interesting to see where she grew up.

~~~ . . .~~~

Heather (2Summers) recently tweeted the link to this article, which left me quite stunned. I’ve thought about it a lot since I read it. João Silva (a South African-based photojournalist), gave a speech which has been edited and condensed by the the New York Times. It’s about being a photojournalist on dangerous assignments, about his getting injured in Afghanistan, his recovery and rehabilitation, and what lies in his future. Although some of the descriptions are graphic, they are told without self-pity and the general feeling you come away with is hope for the future. Please read João Silva: ‘This Is What I Do. This Is All That I Know.’

Blyde River Canyon. The Three Rondavels are seen to the right of the center of this view. (Image Source: Wikimedia Commons - click to photo to enlarge and go to source)

Yes, another canyon! In the last Read this . . .  I wrote about the Fish River Canyon in Namibia – which after the Grand Canyon in the United States, is the second largest canyon in the world and the largest canyon in Africa. Jackie from The Slowvelder reminded me that South Africa also has a major canyon – the Blyde River Canyon which is also one of the largest canyons in the world and has the unique distinction of being a “green canyon” due to its subtropical vegetation. Jackie (Slowvelder) has written a couple of posts about this area. My favourite is:  Slowvelder: Out and about – The Blyde River Canyon in which she features beautiful photographs of the Blyde River Canyon and surroundings. But also have a look at Slowvelder: River of Joy and Slowvelder: Out on a winters day- Blyde dam.

About Read This . . .  Every week I read wonderful posts and articles written by other bloggers and writers. Ones that I have personally enjoyed, which have touched me or made me laugh. Often posts that I think deserve more attention and recognition than they are getting. So I’ve decided to highlight those posts in a semi-regular series. The posts or articles won’t necessarily have been written in that week.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Read this . . .”

  1. September 7, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Thanks for the shout out Lisa. For once I have already read most of the posts you mention. I have been following Dr Rayya for a while now – what an incredible lady – l love reading about her patients. Now I must go and read João Silva’s article.

    • September 8, 2011 at 6:38 am #

      You’re welcome, Jackie. It’s nice to be able to recommend other South African blogs.

  2. September 7, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Hi Lisa, thanks so much for the links! I’m glad you’ve been enjoying my posts from the other side of the pond. Again, I love the Read This idea.

    • September 8, 2011 at 6:42 am #

      You always have great posts, but these were a little different. I’m liking the Read This idea too! I like sharing good things I find with others, but Twitter links are so fleeting.

  3. September 7, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    I will have to read the dog-related posts. I can attest to how wonderful both Heather and Jackie’s post are! Thanks for these links!
    Kathy

    • September 8, 2011 at 6:44 am #

      I know that some of my readers follow the other blogs I do, but they may occasionally miss a really good post. But that’s also why I’m including other blogs/articles I come across outside of WordPress.

  4. September 7, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Thanks for pointing me in the direction of these bloggers, Lisa. I’m especially interested to read Dr. Rayya’s posts of course. I’m also very much opposed to breed discrimination laws.

    • September 8, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      Dr Rayya has so much good info on her blog – and you get a glimpse into the life of a vet. I kind of stole the idea (for Read This) from you . . . a combination of your Friday Five and your Shine series (which I’m enjoying a lot).

  5. September 8, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    I like these series of interesting, unusual or thought-provoking posts, Lisa. A wonderful way of meeting like-minded and similar-spirited fellow bloggers. Thank you!

    • September 8, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      I often come across things that I think other people would also appreciate. As I said to Kathryn, we probably follow a lot of the same blogs, but I will also feature articles/blogs outside of WordPress.

Leave a Reply

