Read this . . .

This installment of Read This includes: An expat goes home on vacation, paper architecture and a test: how good is your English?

The first story comes from Kirsty who has a blog with the interesting title of 4 children, 20 suitcases and a beagle.

According to her profile . . . “Kirsty is an Australian writer and Blogger currently living in Qatar. After calling 7 countries home over the past 11 years she’s embarrassed to admit she still can’t pack a suitcase properly. Kirsty is currently writing a book about having 4 children in 4 different countries while trying to remember her new telephone number and where she packed the can opener.

So what happens when a “professional expat” goes home for a long visit and then has to return to their adopted country? Read these two post by Kirsty: The Last Week and Living a Double Life.

~~~ . . .~~~

The next item more of a “See This . . . “, but I really had to share it. Ingrid Siliakus is a Dutch paper architect/artist. The introduction on her site says “Ingrid Siliakus first discovered paper architecture by seeing work of the originator of this art form Prof. Masahiro Chatani (architect and professor in Japan). He developed this art form in the early 1980’s. Ingrid was instantly fascinated by the ingenious manner in which these pieces were designed and by the beauty they radiated. Ingrid studied the originator’s work for some years and than started to design herself . . . Read more . . .

Isn’t this stuff amazing?!

~~~ . . .~~~

Finally Reggie from Grains of Sand published quite an unusual (for her) post the other day called The Challenges of English Pronunciation. Reggie is the author of some amazing nature and hiking posts and a very talented photographer, but this one surprised me and made me laugh!

About Read This . . .  Every week I read wonderful posts and articles written by other bloggers and writers. Ones that I have personally enjoyed, which have touched me or made me laugh. Often posts that I think deserve more attention and recognition than they are getting. So I’ve decided to highlight those posts in a semi-regular series. The posts or articles won’t necessarily have been written in that week.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Read this . . .”

  1. September 15, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Thank you, Lisa, for the honourable mention! Wow… I’ve just read Kirsty’s two posts, and have tears in my eyes – thank you for introducing us to other excellent bloggers.

    • September 15, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      You’re welcome – you deserved a mention after making me laugh! I’m glad you are enjoying the other links too.

  2. September 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Great recommendations, Lisa. Kirsty’s blog sounds hysterical, and Ingrid, the paper artist, what incredible work! And I’ve never read Reggie’s blog. Will have to check it out.

    Thanks for this series, Lisa! Happy Thursday, my friend!

    Kathy

    • September 15, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      Kirsty writes really well. These two posts were personal and reflective, but she also writes with great humour. Like somebody else we know in Japan who isn’t writing much these days . . . 😉

      One thing I forgot to mention about Reggie, is that although she’s an energetic soul who like hiking, she always ends her outings with a cup of coffee and a nice piece of cake. Which she photographs for her blog posts! Got her priorities right, that girl! 🙂

      Hope you’re having a great day too.

  3. September 15, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    What amazing paper sculptures/art/pieces of architecture!

    • September 15, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      Yes, they are so intricate and beautiful, aren’t they? Makes any of my attempts at paper folding look positively juvenile.

  4. Lu
    September 15, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Great choices Lisa – I enjoyed reading all the posts you highlighted here 🙂

    • September 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      I’m glad that you like the series, Lu. At first I thought people might not actually be interested, and if nothing else, at least the bloggers would know they were valued by ME. But, I’m glad to report that people do check out the links.

  5. jacquelincangro
    September 15, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Thanks for this round-up. I love catching up on new blogs and sites I wouldn’t have known about otherwise.
    The paper architect does amazing work! Such an feat of engineering and origami.

    • September 15, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      You’re welcome! There are so many great bloggers and writers and artists out there. Of course, these are just a handful of picks that catch my eye.

  6. September 16, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Wonderful! And I can ‘vouch’ for the Amazing quality of paper architect Ingrid Silikaus’ work; having exhibited her work at three different occasions – most recently at Art Sanctuary’s ‘Enchanted Garden’ this summer:)
    Best greetings, Tone Aanderaa
    http://art-sanctuary.blogspot.com/

    • September 17, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Hi Tone, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a message. Not sure how you found my blog, but I’m glad you did. I came across Ingrid Siliakus’ work in a magazine and was blown away by it. So interesting that you know the artist!

  7. September 19, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    The paper looks extremely frustrating- I`m glad there are people out there that can make that stuff look good without killing themselves in the process. Great round up!

    • September 20, 2011 at 6:53 am #

      Yeah, maybe you shouldn’t attempt any paper architecture just yet . . . 😉

Leave a Reply

