Read this . . .

In this installment:  An unusual camping/road trip and sunglasses for little and big people.

This week I’m going to introduce you to Trinity River from the blog The Serenity Game.

She describes herself as “. . . a woman of a certain age living and loving in Texas . . . Recently, it came to my attention that I’m in the mid 50′s and still wondering what I want to be when I grow up. This mid-life crisis, so to speak (I thought only men had this), came about partly because I to joined the ranks of those whose jobs left the country without them. The very nerve!

So forced into an early retirement, she approached the whole thing with a positive attitude which extended to having a “Countdown to Retirement/Sabbatical” widget on her blog. This has now become a “month and weeks since freedom” counter! The fact that she has a “It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time” category tells you a lot too. She’s a very forthright lady, who doesn’t take herself too seriously and can describe most situations with a great deal of humour.

Her mission is not to stagnate in her retirement, so she’s undertaken several adventures since her “freedom” began. The latest is a camping/road trip which starts with the post It’s 5:00 am Again– Time to Change My Life (just keep reading all the posts after that). One of my personal favourites from this trip (thus far) though is Through the San Juan Mountains.

~~~ . . .~~~

I have been wearing sunglasses since I was a fairly young child. Eye infections due to dust blowing around, was the original reason my mother bought me a pair. But I discovered very quickly that my eyes hurt less, if I also wore them when I was out in bright sunlight. There is a photo of me wearing them, but I’m not sure where at the moment . . . Anyway, they were  . . . “functional” would be a good word. And had bright orange frames. Even as a little girl, pink was really not my colour.  I recently found out there is a whole industry around children’s sunglasses. Which is really cool. Man, I would have look good in a pair of wrap-arounds when I was little! And there’s such a variety that they fall into different categories:  Classic Banz, Adventure Banz, Ultimate Banz, Retro Banz, Ski Banz . . . the names are descriptive. If you want to take a look either for your child – or just want to be amazed at kiddies wearing these ultra-cool sunnies (yes, Baby/Kiddie Banz is also an Australian idea – like the Slip-Slop-Slap campaign) go here. So over the years I’ve upgraded my eye-wear – I no longer wear bright orange sunglasses and I’ve gone over to Ray-Bans and Polaroids. The only real “fashion” sunglasses I’ve bought are a pair of Fossil sunglasses, which are really cute, but don’t have the level of sun protection I need.

What started me thinking about sunglasses in the first place, was a post by Debra Kolkka from Bagni di Lucca and Beyond. Debra, is an Australian from Brisbane, who spends part of her year in Italy. On her blog she features some of the wonderful and stylishly designed Italian products. In a recent post called Why are sunglasses so expensive? she pays a visit to her optometrist in Brisbane and finds out the answer. And she also tells you who makes the various fashion brands. It turns out that there are two main manufacturers, of all the major brands of spectacles, in Italy.

About Read This . . .  Every week I read wonderful posts and articles written by other bloggers and writers. Ones that I have personally enjoyed, which have touched me or made me laugh. Often posts that I think deserve more attention and recognition than they are getting. So I’ve decided to highlight those posts in a semi-regular series. The posts or articles won’t necessarily have been written in that week.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

13 Comments on “Read this . . .”

  1. September 20, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I really am enjoying your “read this” series Lisa – thank you.

  2. September 20, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Thanks for the heads up. I was quite surprised to learn that just 2 manufacturers in Italy make so many brands of sunnies.

    • September 20, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      You’re welcome! Your post was about something I literally can’t live without. Seems a lot of good things come from Italy.

  3. September 20, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I too enjoyed Debra’s sunglasses post, but I’ve never read “The Serenity Game.” Trinity’s blog sounds hysterical. I will have to check it out! Thanks again for this series, Lisa! Hope your week is going well.
    Kathy

    • September 20, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      I think you really would enjoy the writing and humour on The Serenity Game. You have a good week too, Kathy!

  4. jacquelincangro
    September 20, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Thanks for introducing me to these two sites. I’m always interested to find new posts. I really like the Read This series.
    Have a great day!

    • September 20, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      I’m glad to hear that you are enjoying the series. Thank you for reading this week’s post.

  5. September 21, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Trinity from The Serenity Game really is hysterically funny – I can’t stop reading her blog! Love her current camping trip with Mom (having lost her grandson somewhere, I think?!). Sooo funny.

    Thank you for pointing us to her blog, Lisa.

    • September 21, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      I’m glad you like The Serenity Game. I have re-read the camping/road trip posts a couple of times, and always end up laughing. I think you and I (and Riekie/Clouded Marbles) have very similar senses of humour – we often find the same things funny.

      • September 21, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

        Agreed! 😀

        I will need to pace myself with Trinity’s blog, or I will get into trouble with the work I am supposed to be doing! 🙂 It’s so easy to get caught up in reading other people’s interesting blogs though…

  6. September 24, 2011 at 4:51 am #

    What a great idea–I love reading new and fun blogs but love it even more when someone like you finds them for me!

    • September 24, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks! Someone like me? I don’t have time to read a lot of blogs, so my choices are really about what has caught my eye that week. If somebody leaves an interesting comment on my blog, I usually check theirs out too.

      I took a look at your blog. Wow. You write with such honesty about your situation and your feelings. It’s humbling to read how you’ve dealt with your cancer diagnosis and treatment.

Leave a Reply

