Caption this . . .

Firstly, let me say that you all did great. It was a good selection of captions. In fact so good that I kept changing my mind about who the winner would be.  But I had to pick, so the winner of the first Caption this . . . is
Clouded Marbles with the caption: “Is that . . . ? No o o wa a ay! What IS that?!” Congratulations!!!

When you spend time watching animals and birds in the bush, you often see them in amusing situations or poses.  It always makes me wonder what they’re thinking. It’s so easy to ascribe human emotions to them. So I thought I’d give you all a chance to think up captions for some of the funnier photographs we have taken. The winner (which I’ll pick) unfortunately will not be getting a big prize, just have the honour of being named the winner! If you can think of a good one (or several), please leave a comment.

The setting: These three giraffes were part of a big herd near Mata Mata in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. They were walking quite close together, and then stopped and craned their necks to look in the same direction. The middle giraffe had nowhere to put his neck and head except over the back of the one on the right.

“Is that . . . ? No o o wa a ay! What IS that?!” Caption by Clouded Marbles ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

22 Comments on “Caption this . . .”

  1. September 21, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    That is hilarious!

  2. Sarita Botha
    September 21, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Wonder wat was so interessting? Looks like my dogs, they do that too. So funny.

  3. GlobalFurryConspiracy
    September 21, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    1) NOW will you believe that I can spit farther than both of you?

    2) That stupid Giselle – always having to wear the latest spots …

  4. Lu
    September 21, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    “I don’t know what you guys are looking at, I only want to tie my shoelace…”

  5. September 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I love the pic but can’t think of a witty caption!

  6. jacquelincangro
    September 21, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Games giraffes play: My neck is longer than your neck. 🙂

  7. September 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    All this space and you pick here to stand?

  8. September 21, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    “Susie, you have ALWAYS been a serious pain in the neck. Now move over, girl!”

  9. Estie
    September 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    What’s up? What’s up. Who did whaaat!

  10. September 21, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    They look like a bizarre, 3 rear-ended giraffe/hydra cross!

  11. September 22, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    “Guys, do you see my collar there? That’s the only thing that keeps my limp neck erected!”

  12. September 22, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    This is a great idea!

    “{whine} Are we there yet?”

    I like Estie’s too. 🙂

  13. September 23, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    Thank you to everyone who has left a comment and/or caption. I’ll be picking a winner tomorrow – Sat 24th.

  14. September 23, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    “Your mom and I love you, sweetie, but you’re getting a little too big for piggy-back rides.”

  15. September 24, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    “Is that . . .? What IS that?!”

  16. September 24, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    or rather

    “Is that . . . ? No o o wa a ay! What IS that?!”

    You better make a choice soon or I won’t stop thinking about this! 😉

  17. September 24, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Firstly, let me say that you all did great. It was a good selection of captions. In fact so good that I kept changing my mind about who the winner would be. But I had to pick, so the winner of the first Caption this . . . is Clouded Marbles with the caption: “Is that . . . ? No o o wa a ay! What IS that?!”

  18. September 24, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    I love clouded marbles’ caption! It truly is perfect–and hysterical. Congrats!
    Kathy

  19. September 25, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Congratulations Riekie 🙂
    This was fun, glad to see you’re going to do it again!!

  20. October 1, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Brilliant! Congratulations, Riekie!

  21. October 8, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Thanks, all! 🙂 This is great fun. 😀

