Caption this . . .

Thanks to everyone who entered. Again it has been a very difficult choice. The winner of the second Caption this . . . is
Laura from Unlikely Explanations with the caption: “Sooner or later, we’re going to have to tell him he’s adopted.” Congratulations!!!

When you spend time watching animals and birds in the bush, you often see them in amusing situations or poses.  It always makes me wonder what they’re thinking. It’s so easy to ascribe human emotions to them. So I thought I’d give you all a chance to think up captions for some of the funnier photographs we have taken. The winner (which I’ll pick) unfortunately will not be getting a big prize, just have the honour of being named the winner! If you can think of a good one (or several), please leave a comment.

The Rules: (1) You may enter as many captions as you wish.  (2) A Caption This winner will not be considered for the following two competitions. Last week’s winner is: Clouded Marbles – see her caption here.

The setting: It has become a “tradition” at the Grootkolk wilderness camp for the visitors to put out water for the smaller birds. Mostly these are Sociable Weavers which have their big communal nests close by. During this year’s visit I noticed that the field mice were also drinking out of the water bowl.

To give you a little more inspiration – and show that this photograph is “real” –  I’ve got a short video for you to watch below.

"Sooner or later, we’re going to have to tell him he’s adopted." Caption by Laura from Unlikely Explanations. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Remember though that the caption is for the photograph above.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

28 Comments on “Caption this . . .”

  1. September 24, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    “Dude, do you think he can swim? If we push him in and he drowns there will be more water for us from now on.”

    • September 25, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      LOL Thanks for your caption! You can enter again if something else occurs to you during the week. I’ll be considering each entry individually.

  2. September 24, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Okay, I have to give this one a bit of thought! I’ll come back with a caption. The photo is hysterical! Congrats to Clouded Marbles! The caption was perfect.
    Kathy

    • September 25, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      I thought I’d give people more time to think about it this week. Looking forward to seeing your entry/entries.

  3. September 24, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    This is a great series Lisa- I love the pictures!

  4. September 25, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    LOL- This is awesome. Will think about it for a bit 🙂

    • September 25, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      Thanks, remember you can enter as many times as you want – I’ll consider each entry independently.

  5. September 25, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I’ll be back before the deadline…. gotta give some thought to this 🙂

    • September 25, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      In the meantime, however:
      “Look deeeeeep into the crystal waters and tell me, what do you see?”
      “hmm, difficult to say… a rat, perhaps?”

      • September 25, 2011 at 10:42 am #

        LOL Remember you can enter as many times as you want – I’ll consider each entry independently.

  6. September 25, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Bird #1: ‘C’mon, push him in!’
    Bird #2: ‘Leave me alone. I’m drinking.’

    • September 25, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      LOL Thanks for your caption, Heather! Looks like this week’s choice is going to be even tougher than the last one.

  7. September 25, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    “Hurry up. There are cats in this ‘hood.”

  8. September 26, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    “Sooner or later, we’re going to have to tell him he’s adopted.”

  9. September 27, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Bird 1: “Waiter, Waiter – there’s a rat in my soup”
    Bird 2: “I think you will find, sir – that it is, in fact, a field mouse”

  10. September 30, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Bird: “Ape to man; bird to….rat?? Hmmm…think we got the raw evolutionary deal”.

    • September 30, 2011 at 10:30 am #

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a caption! 🙂

      • September 30, 2011 at 10:39 am #

        It’s a great blog. Must get a few pointers from you on layouts, navigation etc. I’m still finding my feet on WordPress, although I have checked out your post on your “do’s and don’t’s”

  11. October 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Aw, well-deserved caption winner Laura! Brilliant!

    I am loving this series, Lisa.

  12. October 2, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    Well done, Laura!

  13. October 2, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Thanks, guys. And Lu, I loved your waiter caption.

  14. October 8, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Congrats, Laura!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get Creative with a “Caption This” competition at “Notes from Africa” « Grains of Sand - October 24, 2011

    […] Caption # 2 […]

