News from the forest

Jos Badenhorst started his story in the post If you go down to the woods today. Here’s an update . . .

Guest Post for Notes from Africa by Jos Badenhorst

Remember Bambi? This is a crop of the original capture from 12 September 2011. (Image supplied by Jos Badenhorst)

I got a photo of “Bambi” yesterday for the first time since 12 September 2011. It is not a very good pic because the sun’s rays are shining through the canopy of the forest making it very dark in the shadows.

A daytime shot of Bambi over a month later. (Image supplied by Jos Badenhorst)

In my previous post I forgot to mention that the picture of the bushbuck ram was in fact the ram that we think is the father of Bambi. We named him Guduza – Zulu for “walk about”. One can see that it is an old animal and it is much bigger than any other males that walk that path. He still walks past two to three times a week, whereas the other males have not been there for more than a month – since Bambi made his/her appearance.

I named Bambi’s mother Mbambala. Mbambala is a bush buck in Zulu. I grew up in Natal, and the Zulus refer to a female Bush buck as Mbambala and it seemed like an appropriate name for her. It has always sounded graceful and shy to me.

Guduza - Bambi's suspected daddy. (Image supplied by Jos Badenhorst)

There was no other interesting stuff happening this week, except for a Black Sparrowhawk mother that does not like me walking past the Yellowwood tree where she has a nest with three chicks. So now I have to duck and dive while trying to reach the camera, because she is seriously on my case every time I go there. I reckon she probably also keeps the baboons on their toes when they come past. She is one tough cookie!

Thank you to Jos and Christoff Badenhorst for making this post possible and supplying the photographs, and to Jos Badenhorst for writing the text.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Guest Bloggers, Nature/Environment

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

3 Comments on “News from the forest”

  1. Gian Banchero
    October 20, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Thank you so much for your site that allows me to visit a part of the world that I would otherwise be totally ignorant of… You have opened my eyes to a totally new experience and new and original perspectives of Africa that never fails to stoke my interest and always puts an appreciative smile on my face. –Gian (John), Berkeley, California – USA

    • October 21, 2011 at 7:53 am #

      Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment, Gian! 🙂 It’s lovely getting such positive feedback from a reader. As you can see I like to share my love for nature and Africa with people.

  2. October 20, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Bambi’s a cutie. Thanks Jos and Christoff.
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

