Time passing – 3 seasons in 3 months

One of the things I have noticed more since I started taking photographs, is the changing of the seasons. Sure, I had noticed before that it was getting hotter or colder. I noticed that the trees had the leaves, or were dropping their leaves. That there were flowers, or there weren’t. But I didn’t pay much attention to the short spring and autumn seasons we have here in Southern Africa.

When we left on our Kalahari trip at the beginning of August, I quickly took at photograph of the two trees which grow in our front garden. They were bare and I liked the silhouette of the bare branches against the grey, cloudy sky.

August - Trees in winter ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

We came back home to find the seasons changing and at the beginning of September, I took another photograph. The trees had started to grow new leaves.

September - Trees in early spring ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

By the beginning of October, a lot more leaves had grown, but they still had their light green spring colour.

Early October - Trees in late spring ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Which brings us today in late October. In just 3 weeks, the trees are now covered in leaves and one can no longer see any branches. The colour of the leaves has also changed to the deep green of summer.

Late October - Early summer ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

21 Comments on “Time passing – 3 seasons in 3 months”

  1. Lisa Wields Words
    October 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Lovely. I love seasons. They remind us that life continues and is truly miraculous.

    • October 27, 2011 at 7:37 am #

      Yes, and the seasons change regardless of what else is going on. I find observing the rhythms of nature very calming.

  2. October 26, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    I have noticed the same thing with the plane tree outside our house too, only I haven’t taken photographs from the same angle as you have done here – very clever idea!

    Will you post some autumn photos in March/April? 🙂

    • October 27, 2011 at 7:39 am #

      Thank you! That’s a good idea – doing a similar sequence from summer through autumn to winter.

  3. jacquelincangro
    October 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    I’d read about a photographer whose project was to take a picture of the same spot once a week for an entire year. The “time lapse” imagery is really fun, similar to a flip book from childhood.
    Your trees really filled out in three weeks. Of course our trees are just starting to lose their leaves. 🙂

    • October 27, 2011 at 7:40 am #

      Do you remember who that photographer was? I’d love to look at the photos.

      Yes, it’s amazing how the last spurt of growth was so quick.

  4. October 26, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I love watching the change of seasons. I am missing the jacarandas and poincianas in Brisbane now, but I have the autumn colours here in Italy to compensate.

    • October 27, 2011 at 7:42 am #

      Our southern hemisphere spring is wonderful, but I think the northern hemisphere autumns are more spectacular. We don’t have that many deciduous trees here. Mainly evergreen forests.

  5. October 27, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    You are very organized with your photos to ID them over time! Lovely change of seasons from RSA. Thank you for sharing.

    • October 27, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      I’m not actually that organized . . . each photo is stored with information including the date and time the photo was taken. In this case I knew I wanted to do a series, so took at photograph during the same week each month.

  6. October 27, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    Gosh, Lisa, these photos are great even from my phone!

  7. October 27, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Gorgeous pictures. We don’t really get seasons in southern California — I miss them.

    • October 27, 2011 at 7:46 am #

      Thanks! Actually our spring and autumn are very short. And since we have mainly evergreen forests in our area, we don’t have those brilliant autumn colours you see in North America and Europe.

  8. Sarita Botha
    October 27, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Wow! Incredible how quickly ti changes.

  9. Estie
    October 30, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Trees are some of my favourite things and in Paarl where I grow up the leaves of the oaks told us the season.

  10. November 1, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    I like the way you showed the same scene at different times. That does indeed give you and the viewer a sense of the passage of time. I photograph different stages of the plant species native to my area (Texas), but not usually of the exact same plant.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • November 2, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      Hi Steve, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I only started with photography at the beginning of the year, so I still have a lot to learn. I see that you’re primarily into nature photography which is my special interest too, so I’ll be checking out your blog for tips and ideas.

  11. November 4, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    That’s amazing. I agree – I definitely notice the changing of seasons more distinctly as a photographer. It’s odd to see a green tree in October/November. I’m of course the complete opposite of you.

    • November 5, 2011 at 4:52 am #

      I’d quite frankly rather be where you are now. Our summer started early, so I think we may be in for a long, hot one this year.

Leave a Reply

