Caption This #6

The winner of Caption This #6, by popular vote, is Barking In The Dark with the caption “What do you mean you love me? You’re a Giraffe.” Congratulations!
Also see the previous winners at the Caption This Winners Gallery.

The setting: The Grootkolk Wilderness Camp (Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park) at sunset. A leopard comes down to the waterhole to drink. We (the humans) are huddling around the communal campfire a mere 50 metres away, braaing (barbecuing) some meat for our dinner. As the leopard walks away it suddenly stops in its tracks and raises its head to sniff the air . . .

For more photos of this leopard see the post The Camp Cat on my photoblog.

"What do you mean you love me? You’re a Giraffe.” Caption by: Barking In The Dark. Image:©Heyns Kotze

You only get to vote once. Because I’m not sure if enough people will vote, I’m allowing people to pick their top TWO (2) choices. You can (theoretically) vote for yourself, but please only do so if you are convinced yours is the best caption!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Caption This #6”

  1. November 2, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I think I missed the deadline but I just voted anyway. I have a lot of catching up to do!

  2. November 6, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Well done Barking in the dark – that caption (actually, the original one) had me almost snorting my cup of tea!

  3. November 6, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    thank you Lisa, (and Lu) and thanks to the Academy, my producers, my director, my co-stars, and my fabulous supporting cast and crew. i shall endeavor to do my best in future caption contests – tho’ i must say that this week’s little bird has me somewhat stumped. thanks guys. continue…

    • November 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      You’re the first person to post an acceptance speech. Well done on your caption!

Leave a Reply

