Caption This #7

The winner of Caption This #7, wining with a huge majority, is Georgette from Georgette Sullin’s Blog with the caption “If I practice hard enough, they’ll cast me for Swan Lake.” Congratulations Georgette – a well-deserved win!
Also see the previous winners at the Caption This Winners Gallery.

The setting: At the Grootkolk wilderness camp, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. During a quieter period at the water bowl, the little bird below decided to take a bath, and then sat grooming itself. I originally captioned the photo “I wonder how far back I can lean before I fall off?” What do you think is happening here?

For more photographs of Sociable Weaver birds see the post Frenzy at the “water hole” on my photoblog.

“If I practice hard enough, they’ll cast me for Swan Lake.” Caption by Georgette Sullins. Image: ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

You only get to vote once. You can (theoretically) vote for yourself, but please only do so if you are convinced yours is the best caption!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Caption This #7”

  1. November 6, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Lisa, your original caption is the first thing that came to my mind when i looked at the picture…i still think yours is the best. continue…

    • November 8, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      My problem with thinking up captions, is that I remember the situation as I saw it when I took the photo. So I tend not to think beyond that. I loved how you took the last photo (the leopard looking up at the sky) and came up with something completely fresh. Makes for a more amusing caption.

  2. November 7, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Didn’t know you were an exhibitionist, Lisa!

    • November 8, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Opinions expressed by people who read this blog, are not necessarily the truth or supported by me (the blog owner). However, I thought it an amusing caption, so did not censor it! 😉

  3. November 13, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Congratulations Georgette! I also had a ballet theme in mind, but couldn’t come up with a caption as good as yours.

  4. November 13, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Congrats, Georgette!

  5. November 13, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Thank you! It was fun.

Leave a Reply

