Tree ferns in Australia

In case you didn’t see enough of tree ferns in my previous post (very predictably titled Tree ferns!), here are some more. These photographs were taken in Australia by Willie. He is currently there for a forestry conference – where he is hearing about, and talking about, and seeing lots of – you guessed it – TREES. I had asked him to take some photographs of things other than trees, but so far most of the photos I’ve seen have been of trees. In this case, what is of interest are the tree ferns (which are not trees) which are seen here growing in their natural habitat amongst some Mountain Ash (Eucalyptus regnans) trees. The location is in the mountains north of Melbourne, Victoria in Australia.

I couldn’t pick a favourite photo, so you’re going to see the same tree ferns from different angles!

©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

I think they look much better out “in the wilds” than in a garden. Don’t you?

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Nature/Environment

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

21 Comments on “Tree ferns in Australia”

  1. December 8, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I was going to say, “What a handy man to have around,” then realized, in this case, it wouldl be “not have around.”

    All humor aside, these are fun photos. Before your posts I had never seen a tree fern. Hope you are doing well, my friend,.

    Kathy

    • December 11, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      Yes, “handy” but not “at hand”! 🙂 I hope that Willie took some other nice photos in Australia. Maybe I can even persuade him to write about his trip there . . .

  2. December 8, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    Beautiful!

  3. December 8, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Great pics! I’m home. I hope we get to meet Willie on Sunday.

  4. December 9, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    majestic ferns? who knew? you did. continue…

    • December 11, 2011 at 7:51 am #

      Well, we’re literally surrounded by them. Have several in our garden, so tend to notice them elsewhere too.

  5. December 9, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Interesting! I always get an education here. The tree ferns remind me of sword ferns that we have here in the US, only up in the air. It looks like someone cut a tree high and then a sword fern grew out of it.

  6. December 9, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I LOVE these photos.

  7. Sarita Botha
    December 9, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Beautiful ferns!

    • December 11, 2011 at 7:41 am #

      Yes, they are, aren’t they? There’s a beautiful big one up at Witfontein. Next time I go there I must take a camera along . . .

  8. December 10, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Great photos – love the first one, all bright and green against the starker backdrop

    • December 11, 2011 at 7:45 am #

      The first one is my favourite too. Looks like the sun is especially lighting up the tree ferns in the foreground.

  9. Estie
    December 12, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Beautiful. The trees as well.

  10. December 14, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Great pics! The ferns are situated beautifully among our most popular trees: the Eucalyptus 🙂 I have never seen them in the bush myself I supose they are up in tropical Queensland..

    • December 14, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks! These photos were actually taken in the mountains north of Melbourne.

      Willie has just returned with a lot of beautiful photographs of Australia. Going to be putting the best ones up on my blog (I know, this is supposed to be a blog about Africa, but he is one of my “roving reporters”! 🙂 ).

  11. December 15, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Thats close to where I live!! It shows I gotta get out more often! haha
    keen to see what else Willie got up to!

    • December 15, 2011 at 6:15 am #

      LOL Yeah, maybe you should take a drive into the countryside! From the photos Australia looks like a stunning place.

Leave a Reply

