Beating the heat

It’s summer here in the southern hemisphere, and hot and very humid here in the Southern Cape. It’s not only the humans suffering either – birds and animals are all sticking to the shade during the day. Lucy (the cat) and Rosie (the dog) spend most days indoors, and especially in the bedroom with the air conditioning.

A hot and bothered dog - too drained of energy to play. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

If you’re living in the southern hemisphere, I hope that you’re staying cool and hydrated.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

27 Comments on “Beating the heat”

  1. January 15, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    which proves again…animals ARE smarter than people. continue…

  2. January 15, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Awww, Rosie… Hugs…

    • January 16, 2012 at 5:36 am #

      Rosie basks in your cyber love and attention. 🙂

      • January 18, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

        Awwww, she totally should… I think what she’d like is for you to turn the sprinkler on in the garden, so that she can run through the spray! 😉

      • January 18, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

        We did that when she was little and she went absolutely nuts trying to catch the water! Not sure that we are allowed to use sprinklers at this stage – water restrictions may still be in place.

      • January 18, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

        Oh dear, I hadn’t realised that you might still have water restrictions… but surely, a sprinkler is allowed? After sunset?

        I think Rosie would have a blast! 🙂

  3. January 15, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    What a lucky dog!

    • January 16, 2012 at 5:38 am #

      And one very spoilt dog! She’s always found our bed much more comfy than her own basket (which is only used to for short naps and to store her toys). Although I have to add that the air conditioner is only on when I’m there too.

  4. January 15, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Awwww… sleepy face.

    • January 16, 2012 at 5:39 am #

      Sleepy Face wasn’t that thrilled at me taking yet another photo of her! 😉

  5. January 15, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Clever doggie 🙂

  6. January 15, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    It was nine degrees F here yesterday morning as I launched off on my run. I actually prefer exercising in cold weather and detest hot and humid weather. But summer is great! So hopefully you can do some swimming to cool down.

    • January 16, 2012 at 5:46 am #

      Wish I was there . . . 😉 My family comes from Northern Europe and I think I’m genetically programmed to be more comfortable in the frozen northern wastelands. Love snow. I do like the summer for the long days and the early mornings are lovely to walk in though.

  7. January 15, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Sorry you are having to deal with such heat. I know it exacerbates your migraines. It just makes me downright miserable. Looks like Rosy knows what she’s doing. Incidently, we have snow on the ground here in Kentucky. Stay cool, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • January 16, 2012 at 5:49 am #

      Thanks Kathy! Wish I could visit you. 😉 Have you taken any nice photos of the snow yet?

  8. January 16, 2012 at 2:20 am #

    Rosie looks adorable, and is obviously intelligent. I have to admit, I prefer cold to heat (although today is frigid, which I can do without).

    Stay cool.

    Lisa

    • January 16, 2012 at 5:50 am #

      You know just what to say to a doting dog owner! 😉 Yes, she’s adorable and extremely intelligent!!!

  9. Praying for you
    January 16, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Shame, she looks exhausted……..

    • January 17, 2012 at 6:39 am #

      She really does feel the heat. Jessie used to sunbathe, but Rosie never sits in the direct sun for more than 10 minutes. Must be my dog! 😉

  10. Jackie Cangro
    January 16, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Look at Rosie, all tuckered out. Reggie usually seems oblivious to the cold or heat or rain or snow. He could stay out on our walks for hours. Today is quite cold (-9 C) and he sniffs and sniffs. I’m the one that wants to come inside. I guess you could say it’s not him, it’s me. LOL

    • January 17, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      LOL Rosie definitely prefers cold weather to hot, so she likes hanging out with me in summer! 🙂 I’m amazed that Reggie with his long fur can handle the heat so well. Wish I could go on walks with you and Reggie in the cold . . .

  11. January 16, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    she is such a sweet and cuddly looking dog!!

    • January 17, 2012 at 7:55 am #

      I don’t know if you know the Staffie (Staffordshire Bull Terrier) breed at all? They’re very sweet natured dogs, who are very people orientated. Rosie literally follows me around all day when I’m at home, and requires lots of hugs and attention. 🙂

  12. February 13, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    Hello Lisa, found you c/o Betty’s 12X12 Heifer site (she gave you a Blogger award).

    I live within 1 km of the Atlantic coast in Nova Scotia (Canada). It’s definitely winter here. Today is the coldest it’s been so far this winter. With the windchill it’s minus 25 or so C. Don’t both trying to figure out the Fahrenheit — it’s just bitchin’ cold. S’pozed to get milder tomorrow. Are you having a heat wave, or is that just the way it is all summer ? Certainly looks too hot for me.

    I know what a staffie is. I have a staffie cross and because of him, I moved from my home in Ontario to Nova Scotia. Pit bull type dogs are banned in Ontario.

    Stay cool.

    Sybil

    • February 13, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      Hi Sybil! You live in what sounds like my kind of place. Wish I was there . . . My whole family comes from Northern Europe so I’m probably genetically programmed to like the cold and snow. It is always pretty hot during January and February – mid-summer here – but the week I posted this was especially unbearable.

      I think Staffies and Pit Bulls are wonderful dogs. Totally misunderstood. We don’t have any legislation against them here in South Africa, because there haven’t been that many incidents involving these dogs breeds here. Staffies are quite popular dogs in South Africa. Pit Bulls less so – but that’s only because they aren’t as well known here.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

