What are the odds?

One egg - two yolks ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

We all have broken an egg and found two yolks inside, but what are the odds of finding twin yolks in fifteen out of a tray of eighteen eggs?  That has just happened to us, and has me wondering WHY? Do they all come from the same hen – with a history of twins in the family?! Is this some sort of genetic mutation? Are these eggs from alien hens?

If you know how or why this happens, please leave a comment.

UPDATE: The mystery has been solved by Dan B from Das Bloggen who writes:

I believe I read somewhere that hens are more likely to lay double-yolked eggs in the first few years of their lives. Since hens of the same age are kept together in groups, there’s a high probability that a lot of the eggs will be double yolked at one stage.

And was confirmed by Sweffling here.

Tony and I still think they’re alien hens! 😉

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

31 Comments on “What are the odds?”

  1. February 9, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    Weird! It’s a sign of double good things to come for you!

  2. February 9, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Wow, that is remarkable, Lisa!

    We once had 5 twin yolks in a 6-egg tray, which we thought was extraordinary. I wonder what would’ve happened if we’d picked up the second 6-egg tray that had been attached to it at the shops?

    And they were all delicious. 😉

    • February 9, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      Yeah, these eggs were also good. Has it ever happened to you again? I wonder if this is a once-in-a-lifetime kind of thing?

      • February 9, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

        No, it’s never happened again. 😦 I hope it does though!

  3. February 9, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    There’s a shop in my hometown that sells trays of double-yolked eggs. So you can get 10/10. I believe I read somewhere that hens are more likely to lay double-yolked eggs in the first few years of their lives. Since hens of the same age are kept together in groups, there’s a high probability that a lot of the eggs will be double yolked at one stage.

    • February 9, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Thanks for solving the mystery, Dan! I obviously know less about hens than I’d even thought I’d knew . . . So does that shop knows that the eggs are going to be double-yolked – or are they just guessing?

      Thanks for reading my post and leaving a comment! 🙂

  4. Sarita Botha
    February 9, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Very weird! You got good value for your money.

    • February 9, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      Each of the yolks was smaller than usual, so there wasn’t that much difference between the twin-yolked and the single-yolked ones.

  5. February 9, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Maybe you’re just seeing double. 🙂

  6. February 9, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    i vote for aliens. continue…

    • February 10, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Dan’s explanation sounds way too logical doesn’t it? Aliens would be my guess too! 😉

  7. February 9, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    I obviously only eat “older” hen’s eggs… Haven’t had a double yoke for ages 🙂
    If it is a sign of good luck – then surely some is on its way over to you, en masse!

    • February 10, 2012 at 6:39 am #

      They must have a lot of young hens where these eggs come from. I’m really hoping that it has some positive meaning for me. 🙂

  8. February 9, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    pretty cool that you had that many double yolks. i’ve generally only had 1 double yolk-er in a dozen egg carton. and that happens maybe once a year.

  9. February 9, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I have never seen a double yolk. Am I in the minority here?

  10. February 9, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    How stangely wonderful! Hope it means lots of good things to come–double the pleasure!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • February 10, 2012 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks Kathy! 🙂 I’m hoping it means more good, pain-free days to come.

  11. February 10, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    I heard a programme recently which said exactly the same as Dan said. Young, immature hens tend more to lay double yokers, and as he said, producers usually have hens of the same age since they cull their flocks from time to time. On the programme they found six double yokers in a box of six and were amazed until they sorted this out.

  12. Jackie Cangro
    February 10, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    That sounds like a most auspicious eggstraordinary event. (ha!)
    A good luck sign for sure.

  13. February 11, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    We had a hen called Farrington who regularly lay double yolkers. She outdid herself on one occasion when she laid an egg with 4 yolks. She was a champion. Her eggs were huge as well.

    • February 13, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      Wow, Farrington sounds like she was a star layer! I’m amazed at the response this short post got – and that it’s not such a unique event.

  14. February 14, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Wow I learnt a heap of information about chooks too. I look forward to my double or even quadraple yolk ;-). Generally twins is a heritable trait (passed on to generations) so I suspect a layer that has twin yolks may pass that gene to her chicks.

    • February 15, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      I just posted this as a “random thought” post and have learned such a lot from the response I got from readers. Thank you for your veterinary opinion re: the genetic question!

  15. February 14, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    We used to be able to buy boxes of double yoked eggs from our local market in Belgium – I always wondered how they could tell because there were never any single yolk eggs in the box.

    • February 15, 2012 at 11:59 am #

      It seems that it’s fairly common for folks in North America and Europe to actually want to buy double yolked eggs. I had never heard of it here in South Africa.

Leave a Reply

