Snow in the Southern Cape

The city we live in is situated at the foot of the Outeniqua Mountains in the Southern Cape. Being on the coastal plateau between the mountains and the sea, it rarely gets very cold here. Our winters are wet and cold, but snow this close to the sea is uncommon – even on our coastal mountains.

Winter has really set in here during the last month. Which I’m really pleased about, because I don’t enjoy hot weather. I don’t mind the wet and cold, but sometimes it would be nice to have something to show for the plummeting temperatures. About a week ago it finally got down to zero degrees centigrade where we live. I got all enthusiastic taking photographs of the frost (also rare) on our lawn!

Then on Friday we woke up to actual snow on our mountains. Not a lot of snow, but still pretty. This only happens 2 or 3 times during the winter. Usually it either melts quickly in the sun, or gets washed away by rain, before we can take any photographs.This time I was able to take a couple of quick photos before the clouds descended again. It has been bitterly cold and wet here since Friday, so we have been staying indoors, close to the fire and eating “winter food”.

To see what our area looks like in better weather see the post A scenic 30-minute drive

The view from our front lawn. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

A close-up of Cradock Peak. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Snow in the Southern Cape”

  1. July 15, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Brrrr…. I was wondering whether it was snowing in your part of the world, Lisa. Well-captured shots of the snowy mountain peaks! I’m going back to my hot water bottle now…

    • July 16, 2012 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks Reggie! It was freezing all weekend. Know now what my family in Europe endures in the winter, when they have to stay indoors a lot. On Friday morning I wrapped up, went outside to take the photos and then rushed back in to thaw out . . . And we don’t even get very heavy snow here.

  2. July 15, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Looks beautiful! It’s been quite hot and humid here so I’m envious of the cooler weather you’re having. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

    • July 16, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      I’m loving it! 🙂 We only get a dusting of snow on our mountains, but there were heavy snowfalls on the inland mountain ranges over the weekend. A friend was there and I’m hoping to be able to publish his photographs when he gets back.

  3. July 15, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Thank you for sharing enjoyed the post and photos.

  4. July 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    How beautiful, Lisa. I’m wishing for snow about now, as our summer here has been miserably infernal, and, like you, I’m not crazy about heat. Enjoy the view, my friend. Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • July 16, 2012 at 7:36 am #

      Thanks Kathy! Had a lovely weekend staying close to the fire with Willie, the cat and the dog. It was nice to be all snug inside, and relax and read while the storm raged outside. It made me realise how blessed we are – there are lots of people who didn’t have as good and comfortable a weekend.

  5. July 16, 2012 at 3:46 am #

    So happy to see your frosty glazing on the mountains there, specially since it’s been SO hot here in Atlanta … I’m living vicariously through you (and your house is LOVELY!)

    • July 16, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      Thanks for your comment Betty! The house isn’t ours though – our house is behind where I’m standing. A “frosty glazing” is a great way to describe it. We don’t get very heavy snowfalls here, but they did have heavy snowfalls elsewhere. Am hoping to publish some of a friend’s photos of the winter wonderland further east and inland from here.

Leave a Reply

