The Elfish Gene by Mark Barrowcliffe

Or to give it its full title: The Elfish Gene: Dungeons, Dragons And Growing Up Strange.

My reading is often influenced by book titles. The more unusual the better, and this one certainly got my attention! As the e-book was not available for download, I ended up listening to the audio-book version which is narrated by the author. Listening to Mark Barrowcliffe speak his own words added a lot to my enjoyment of the book.

A short summary:

Coventry, 1976. For a brief, blazing summer, twelve-year-old Mark Barrowcliffe had the chance to be normal.

He blew it.

While other teenagers concentrated on being coolly rebellious, Mark – like twenty million other boys in the ’70s and ’80s – chose to spend his entire adolescence in fart-filled bedrooms pretending to be a wizard or a warrior, an evil priest or a dwarf. Armed only with pen, paper and some funny-shaped dice, this lost generation gave themselves up to the craze of fantasy role-playing games, stopped chatting up girls and started killing dragons.

From: Goodreads book summary

Even though I was never an adolescent boy in the English Midlands, I identified strongly with the teenage Mark Barrowcliffe. My own teenage years were spent in a small mining-town east of Johannesburg. I was one of the nerdy kids that didn’t fit in, wasn’t too good at sports and was socially awkward. I could not wait to leave. Not having a role-playing game like Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) to immerse myself in, I spent hours in the library losing myself in fiction and especially fantasy fiction like Lord of the Rings. I only recently started playing online role-playing games – the successors to games like D&D. As an adult, I find them entertaining, but don’t get as absorbed in them as younger players seem to. Had I discovered D&D at a young age, I can imagine I would also have become totally obsessed.

At the bottom line my growing interest in fantasy was just an expression of a very common feeling–“there’s got to be something better than this,” an easy one to have in the drab Midlands of the 1970s. I couldn’t see it, though. My world was very small, and I couldn’t imagine making things better incrementally, only a total escape.”
― Mark Barrowcliffe, The Elfish Gene: Dungeons, Dragons And Growing Up Strange

Having played online role-playing games (RPGs), I was keen to hear about the rules of D&D and how the games were played. A couple of the things I found interesting were:

  • The connection between Lord of the Rings and Dungeons & Dragons. I had not realised that not only were the players fans of Lord of the Rings, but that some versions of D&D included characters and scenarios from Lord of the Rings.
  • The time, energy, mental ability and sheer imagination needed to play Dungeons & Dragons. Without having computers to calculate if you killed a monster, or if it killed you, all the calculations had to be done by hand, and with rolls of a dice. There were also no computer graphics (which for me are a great attraction of online RPGs), to provide the visual aspect of the game.
  • The contribution D&D made to modern fantasy role-playing games. There is so much which is in the structure of modern fantasy RPG which originated with D&D. For example, the whole concept of different character classes (warriors, clerics/healers and wizards/priests) with different skills were already employed in D&D.

Although Mark Barrowcliffe writes a lot about D&D and role-playing games, this is also a memoir of his teenage years and everything that goes with being a teenager. Especially his relationships with his family and friends. It is written with a lot of humour, and I laughed and sometimes cringed (recalling myself at the age) at a lot of his observations. It brought back memories of my own struggles during adolescence.

Mark Barrowcliffe talks about his D&D years as “lost” or “wasted” years, when he could have been doing something “better”.  I think that given the pressures and things teenagers today are exposed to, he could have been doing something far worse.

I thought it very likely I might have this sort of untestable power myself. It was kind of logical–no good at sport, alrightish at my studies, there must have been some field in which I excelled. Magic had to be it.

It’s difficult for adults to picture just what a grip these fantasies can take on a child. There’s occasionally a reminder as a kid throws himself off a roof pretending to be Batman, but mostly the interior life of children goes unnoticed.

― Mark Barrowcliffe, The Elfish Gene: Dungeons, Dragons And Growing Up Strange

For other posts on my blog about online role-playing games see:

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Books/Book Reviews, Random

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

12 Comments on “The Elfish Gene by Mark Barrowcliffe”

  1. November 19, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Oh my, Lisa, this sounds like a book I have GOT TO READ. Thanks for this introduction. I love coming-of-age memoirs–partly because I am writing one, I suppose.
    Hope you have a wonderful week, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • November 20, 2012 at 6:40 am #

      Kathy, there is a lot of talk about D&D and role-playing in the book, which may not appeal to everyone. Having said that though, I would probably have enjoyed the book even if I hadn’t had any experience in role-playing games. There is a definite art to writing a memoir, which is different from writing a normal autobiography. Mark Barrowcliffe covers only about 5 years of his adolescence, but manages to really give a good feeling of what it was like living in England at the time. Which is what appealed to me.

  2. November 20, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    I’ve never played Dungeons & Dragons in any form, though I did enjoy The Lord of the Rings very much. I didn’t know there was a connection between the two.

    Are you planning to see The Hobbit movie coming out next month?

    • November 20, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      The Dungeons & Dragons players took their inspiration from ANY fantasy fiction and old sagas (e.g. the old Nordic sagas) that they came across! 🙂

      YES! I will definitely be seeing The Hobbit. Am so glad that Peter Jackson got to direct The Hobbit movies too. He’s just got such a good feel for the Tolkien books.

  3. November 20, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    I’m kind of the opposite of you — I’ve never played an online role-playing game, but I did play D&D in college. The lack of graphics really wasn’t an issue, partly because there weren’t any good computer graphics to compare it to back then, and partly because it was a game we played with a bunch of friends together in a room, and I think it’s easier for imagination to take flight in that environment.

    • November 20, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      It’s interesting to hear from somebody who has played D&D. From reading the book, I got the impression that the D&D players were much more imaginative than online RPG players today. Not just being entertained, but creating their own fantasy world.

      One of the aspects I really don’t like about online RPGs is the PvP environment. It’s just about who has the better skills, stronger armour etc, and the player ratings are just a factor of how many other characters yours has killed. I just don’t see the point of that.

  4. November 20, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I`m still old school- I rather watch tv.

    • November 20, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      The adult Mark Barrowcliffe agrees with you! 🙂 After getting introduced to online role-playing games earlier this year, I played for a couple of months. But then real life and headaches “intruded”.

  5. November 20, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    That is a book I would love to read too, Lisa – even though I’ve never played D&D or any online RPGs. But it sounds intriguing… Is it an autobiography, or does he actually tell a story?

    • November 20, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      He calls it a “memoir”. It’s his own life story, over about a 5-year period during his teens, when he was actively playing D&D. It gives you a view of what it was like growing up in a working/middle class England during that period.

  6. November 24, 2012 at 8:33 am #

    I also never played D&D, but love Lord of the Rings. ‘Never knew of the connection. I also was a bit of a shy child who often did not seem to “fit in” with the mainstream. Very interesting post.

    • November 24, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      I wonder if the Lord of the Rings (and similar books) specifically attract shy, introverted kids – the ones that have mostly internal fantasy lives? Or perhaps that is too much of a generalization? Posts like this don’t usually attract as much attention, so I’m very happy when readers find they could identify with it.

Leave a Reply

