Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections

Sometimes reflections are clearer than reality . . .

Forest pond on a bright,hazy day. The mountain behind the trees can only be seen clearly in the reflection. The reflected trees are also much sharper, than the real ones. ©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

A forest pond on a bright, hazy day. The mountain behind the trees can only be seen clearly in the reflection. The reflected trees are also much more sharply defined, than the real ones. ©WMB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Looking at the reflected trees and sky. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Looking at the reflected trees and sky in the pond. ©LB/notesfromafrica.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Photography

Author:lisa@notesfromafrica

I live on the Southern coast of South Africa, and write about the things that interest, amuse or inspire me. You can find me at https://notesfromafrica.wordpress.com and http://southerncape.wordpress.com (my photoblog)

Subscriptions

Subscribe to the Notes from Africa RSS and Twitter feeds to receive updates.

20 Comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Reflections”

  1. December 1, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    I’m a sucker for reflection photos! I love them all. There’s something about the parallel images that makes them so lovely.

  2. December 1, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    That is pretty cool! I never would have thought to consider a reflection to be clearer. Always something new to learn and appreciate 🙂

    • December 2, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      Yes, it was something about the light that morning. Too sharp and hazy to take good photos in of normal things, but the water was reflecting a perfect image.

  3. December 1, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    I agree with Jackie – I too love reflection photos. My favourites are the ones where you almost can’t tell which is the reflected world and which is the real world. 🙂

  4. Colleen
    December 1, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    I love how the reflections are more sharply defined, the sense of overlapping realities. Lovely photos.

  5. December 1, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Beautiful reflections Lisa!

  6. December 2, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    I like the perspective. I`m really considering a decent camera.

    • December 2, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      There are ways to get good photos if you don’t have a digital SLR. I mainly use a little compact camera and find it takes better photos in especially the early morning and also late afternoon.

  7. Eha
    December 2, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Some beautiful Sunday morning views . . . I have never liked an angry ocean, but give me water and land in tandem like this and I do not want to leave the scene. Remember way back being on the shores of Nordfjord in S Norway: waking up and seeing two perfect mountains, hard to say which was real! Thank you for this 🙂 !

    • December 2, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      Scandinavia is a wonderful place for taking photos. Something about the light there and all that water just makes for beautiful photos.

      Do you have a blog or display your photos anywhere?

      • Eha
        December 3, 2012 at 1:34 am #

        Unfortunately not, tho’ I’m ‘working on the idea’ 🙂 ! Both living rurally and working/studying pretty fulltime, kind’of do not allow the time and opportunity to do yet another thing! I’m basically a food blogger, but lately have found so many other postings which suit my typically Gemini nature 🙂 !

      • December 3, 2012 at 6:41 am #

        Well, I’m very glad that you found my blog! 🙂

  8. December 2, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Great shots – thanks a bunch for subscribing to my photoblog. Think I shall have to reciprocate, your life in Africa looks fascinating.

  9. December 3, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    Beautiful and it does draw the reader to look deeper into one self, to ask, to reflect.

    • December 3, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      It is the kind of place you can just sit and daydream.

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

